We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LOW RATE, GUARANTEED!
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Burnie
2 reviews
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great value for money, smack bang in the middle of town and therefore close to all facilities. Didn't try the Restaurant but a meal ordered in the Tram Bar was spot on. Happy Hour in the Bar between 5.30 to 6.30pm certainly helped. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Executive Housekeeper at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Cazzaque,

On behalf of the team at Mercure LauncestonLaunceston I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Kind Regards
Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    350
    212
    55
    30
See reviews for
128
325
78
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jermyn, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived late on a Sunday evening and were checked into a room on the 2nd floor. The room had no AC, and we had to upgrade to the 6th floor for $50 AUD, which he would discount to $30 - we took it. It was extremely warm when we arrived and since our flight was late, as was our ride to the hotel, we just wanted to eat and get a good night's sleep. Since every restaurant in Launceston was closed (it was almost 10pm), the receptionist suggested we order sandwiches from the hotel. We ordered 2 turkey sandwiches, and when they arrived, there was virtually no turkey, just some bacon and some chips. We were not happy to say the least. After informing the front desk person of the situation, he said there would be no charge for the food, and asked if we wanted a pizza instead (which cost $20). Hot, hunger, and tired, I said yes.

Upon checkout the next day, I was charged $50 for the upgrade and another $50 for the food. I questioned the bill and was told that I would only be charged $50: $30 for the upgrade and $20 for the pizza. When my CC bill arrived, there were charges for $85 in extras. Still awaiting the outcome.

The hotel room was nice as was the bathroom, but the lack of AC, the quality of the food, and the charges were not acceptable. Just happy we only spent one night there.

During our 32-day stay in Australia, we never encountered anything like this. We had nothing but positive experiences, and we didn't let this experience ruin our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ordered soup which was on the 'special' menu, but we were served long after another couple who came in after us but were on to their second course before we got ours. We ordered garlic bread, but it was just what one would get from KFC or McDonalds or the supermarket - not the usual toasted garlic bread we would have expected in a restaurant.
Having experienced the Lime (?) restaurant at the Mecure in Spring St. Melbourne a number of times, we expected the same great experience, but were disappointed. Staff were excellent and friendly though. Just a note of warning - if booking over the internet, don't book your breakfast deal at the same time if you are an Advantage Plus member. We were charged a 'special' fee of $18 per person for breakfast, a total of $36, but as we are Accor Advantage Plus members, we were entitled to a 50 percent off deal and therefore our breakfast would have cost us only $24.00!! Fortunately the office staff at Mecure, made the correction for us, and we thank them for that. Didn't care much for the $6.00 parking fee.
Overall, good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour group so I cannot comment on whether this hotel is a good value for the money. Overall I thought that the hotel is in good shape and is quite convenient to downtown Launceston. Our room was well maintained, and we both enjoyed the breakfast. The room had a nice sitting area adjoining the sleeping area.There is no AC but we did have a small table top fan in our room. Our room did look out at a brick wall but I don't expect great views in the middle of a city. I would stay here again if I ever returned to Launceston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A pleasant stay and enjoyedn the supper and breakfast.
Parking is a real problem and arriving late made it worse, having to park away from the hotel and then be back to the vehicle by 8.10 am Sunday morning made it difficult to enjoy breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were disappointed to have a room with a view of a brick wall, rooms were very dated and shower didn't get hot enough with terrible pressure. The television picture quality was dreadful and noise from the street carried straight through the windows. On the other hand staff were very friendly and it is situated right in the CBD, however you must pay for your own parking

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Gee21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

As a city centre property we believe that we offer great value for money and fantastic city or mountain views from our higher floor rooms (dependent upon which side of the hotel you stay on). I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by street noise during your stay and subject to availability our 24 hour Reception Team are happy to re-locate guests to alternative rooms and also assist in rectifying problems such as poor picture quality on a television.

On a positive note I am happy that you found the Team very friendly and helpful.

Next time you are traveling to Launceston Gee21 I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to serve you better in the future after which you will be happy to recommend the hotel to your family and friends. please do not hesitate to contact me direct and I will be happy to make a reservation for you personally.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
h6331-gm01@mercurelaunceston.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Over all a good stay. Even though the clerk checking me in did not arrange my parking at my booked request, I incurred a "parking ticket", which the day clerk appologised for and then gave me free parking. A good make up but it should not of happened for the money you pay to stay there. Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, Executive Housekeeper at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear mickre,

On behalf of the team at Mercure Launceston I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us……I am glad that we were able to help with the parking and look forward to welcoming you back to Launceston in the future.

Kind Regards
Julie McGee
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.