We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Room/service was good. It bugs me that I have to fill in 200 charachters before this will be accepted, blah blah blah, am I up to 200 yet? obviously not yet zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    333
    190
    52
    26
See reviews for
118
303
74
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and i enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back,in all aspects of the accomodation industry they tick all the boxes,the rooms were very clean and the receptionist was very professional.We dined in the restaurant,very well priced and enjoyable,our grandson even ate all his meal which does'nt happen too often.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was very convenient to everything and thought we would upgrade to their Privilege package as we were here for 2 nights. We were promised extras such as bottled water, robes, slippers, gourmet teas and coffee. I also requested a room away from the lift - and yes our room was outside the lift. However this was changed when I contacted reception.

When I asked about the slippers I was sent one pair - obviously for both of us to share. We also had to share the one bottle of water too. I had to ask about the gourmet tea as there was only peppermint tea available.

The next day when our room was "cleaned" only the bed was done. Our towels which were left on the floor to be replaced were still there and wet so we had to ring for some more towels. We were then given 2 small towels to use.

I am not sure if this hotel is trying to economise but I thought it is quite normal to have a hand, bath and facewasher each. When I asked for a bath mat as the showers have been renovated and the water from the showers splash on the floors the man looked at me rather strangely.

When we went down for breakfast there was nobody there as it seems the only member of staff there also has to do room service! Its a good thing there weren't a lot of people there as he had to do everything.

On leaving I did fill out the request form to do an online survey about the hotel and handed it in to the reception desk but to this date I have not received anything. I was going to mention it to the receptionist but as there was already a family complaining bitterly about an incident the night before and a long line of people behind me I thought I would wait for the survey.

If you are looking for a hotel that is in good location and comfortable for overnight accomodation it is fine but if you want a few extra comforts you might need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Sandy65Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you recent visit to Mercure Launceston, I am sorry that the hotel and the service therein did not meet your expectations.

I would like to assure you that the hotel is not economising at the expense of our guests' experience and I am disappointed that you had to request several items that are placed as standard in our top floor Privilege Rooms. We are very aware of our environmental responsibilities in reducing our linen cleaning chemical usage, however towels left on the floor by our guests are to be re-placed by the Housekeeping, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your partner.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future when you will once again be confident to recommend the hotel to your colleagues and friends.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me,

Best regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Well located hotel on quiet side street within 5 minutes walking distance to CBD. Hotel has had a makeover recently. Rooms are comfortable especially on levels 4 & 5. Dining room menus offer a good range of meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Excellent all round quality. Great location, Excellent rooms with a very comfy bed. Great service. I wll definitely stay here again as I couldn't fault anythign about the hotel. The bar was a great palce for a noght cape, service was excellend in all departments.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.