We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Launceston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Launceston to your Saves list
The Sebel Launceston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is ok but the accommodation is tired and scruffy. Sited right next to car lots, offices and a coach depot this hotel is far from peaceful or private. Do yourself a favour and give this a miss. The Peppers Seaport is just around the corner with access to restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thankyou Portia01 for taking the time in posting a response on your stay at our hotel.
We are a cbd hotel with convenient access to many features within Launceston.
We do have our own on site restaurant providing breakfast and dinner featuring Tasmanian produce and wines along with quality room service meals operating out of it.
With balcony's for all rooms views may include city buildings and features however some do have views of the hills of Launceston as well as the historical army barracks on one side.
Should you have any concerns about any future bookings, please feel free in contacting myself through the hotel.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    199
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
89
213
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel recently and were very happy with the rooms. We had a two bedroom unit which was great for a family. Two large bathrooms with showers that you can have a decent shower in. The unit was large and spacious. The property is well located close to the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thankyou Laura G for posting a response on your stay at the Sebel Launceston.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the size and facilities of our two bedroom suites ideal for your family.
We hope to see you back in Launceston again some time in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great sight located on the edge of the CBD and close to all the main roads.
Walking distance to all the main attactions and Food spots.
Hotel is well fitted out and most if not all rooms have a balconey.
If you are there for the footy its about a 10 -15 minute walk to the ground.
Staff were helpful and on site resteraunt is very nice, good local food. Plenty of other options near by if you want some variety

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thankyou GMcD63 for taking the time in posting a response to your stay.
We are very happy you found the quality of service, food and rooms to your liking as to our central location.
We hope you get the chance to visit Launceston again some time.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night over a weekend in early September. Booked through wotif, no issues checking in. Rooms are large and well appointed, laundry facilities are available and paid parking. Our only suggestion is that rooms might need a little better sound proofing to deal with the town bells during the night.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thankyou theyallexist for taking the time to post a response to your stay at the hotel.
I am very pleased you enjoyed the facilities and service while at the hotel.
The heritage listed town clock is a feature of Launceston and to some a pleasant sound throughout the city. Unfortunately it can be heard throughout most of the cbd hotels.
For the light sleepers we do try and allocate them in rooms on the other side of the hotel and even offer ear plugs.
Please let us know or contact the hotel if you are looking at staying next in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here one night for work recently and it was perfectly adequate for a business trip. We ate at a hotel restaurant and the food and service was good. But at 6am the next morning there was a loud, full on doof gym class across the road and I certainly couldn't sleep through it. This is a problem with the neighbours rather than with the hotel itself, but it is a problem. Sadly, I would recommend staying somewhere else if you want a full night's sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel - away from the noisy gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thankyou pigeondog for taking the time to post a response to your stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed the service and facilities at the Sebel Launceston.
While we are not the only business within Launceston and we do have to respect the operations of our neighbouring businesses, the noise at 6 am was unacceptable. I have personally spoken to the operators with reference to your letter about it and they are very willing to work together so both businesses can operate harmoniously. This relationship has always been present as they do provide special casual rates for guests of our hotel.
We look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel has a great location on the edge of Launceston city with only a five minute walk to the CBD or the waterfront restaurants. Rooms are bright, cheerful and comfortable. The kitchenette area is large with plenty of cupboards for food etc. if you're having an extended stay. Bathroom is large with separate bath and shower. Toilet has it's own room but has no ventilation. Lounge area is a little cramped but adequate. The separate bedroom is adequate in size with a comfortable king size bed. Housekeeping is a generally good standard but there was mould in the shower. This has been mentioned by previous reviewers as far back as 2007. Staff were friendly and courteous. Food from the restaurant is very good and not overly expensive. Despite their assurance that maintenance is a high priority, a fault I reported was not attended to in the 3 days we were there. Being on a corner with traffic lights, the rooms and outdoor restaurant area, are prone to traffic noise and the music from the health club across the street. Would I stay here again or recommend to friends, Yes & Yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thankyou Karl S for taking the time to post a response on your visit.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your overall stay at the Sebel Launceston.
I have updated your profile, should you be staying at the hotel to have a room allocated on another side of the hotel. In general we do have a very good relationship with the gym across the road and can even provide special casual rates for guests of the hotel. The noise rarely is an issue and I do take any comment to their management should they arise. They are in general very obliging and do react to our requests for quieter gym noises from the classes early in the morning or later in the evenings.
In the quieter months we do focus on the condition of the hotel. We have almost finished our yearly re-painting of the doors and corridors and the next is to have the grouting replaced in some of the showers. Whilst the showers are cleaned and bleached daily, over some period it does get in behind the grout and this will be complete in the coming weeks.
We do look forward to your next stay when next in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley NSW
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Large, quiet, comfortable rooms with good amenities. Well positioned at the river end of the CBD. Restaurant was closed Sunday night although room service was available. Breakfast in restaurant was good but seemed oddly limited in the number of coffees and hot dishes included. Also be aware that an $8 undercover, off-street car parking fee is charged per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thankyou WestyTweedValley for posting a response on your stay at the hotel.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The restaurant is closed on our quietest trading day, Sunday nights but as you mentioned we do have the entire menu available through room service.
We do have limited under cover parking with direct access to the hotel and is $8 per day. The carpark, as with most other cbd hotels is managed by a separate company.
On street metered parking surrounding the hotel is available at $3 an hour and is free at night, most of the weekend and public holidays.
We hope you have an opportunity to visit Tasmania again some time.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.