We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Launceston to your Saves list
Quest Launceston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A real winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed only one night but will not hesitate to come back another time. The 1-bedroom apartment we had was very comfortable and roomy. Reception kindly offered to bring in a roller bed for the third person in our group when I said that a sofa bed is not as comfortable. Much appreciated ! He also came up to our room to give me a new wifi password when I said my wifi password didn't work. Speedy wifi too.
The location is very central and, although it took us 20 minutes to get there, we enjoyed the walk to Cataract Gorge. The bus terminus is just around the corner too.

Room Tip: We were on level 1 but it was quiet so we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear AuFrequentTraveller,

Thank you for your repsonse. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Quest Launceston and the staff helped you with your requests. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

Warm Regards

Quest Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    145
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
101
92
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights in friendly Launceston and enjoyed our stay at the Quest. Our 1 bedroom, fully self-contained apartment in the Quest's renovated heritage building was roomy and comfortable and, despite facing busy Paterson Street, it was quiet. The hotel is within easy walking distance to excellent restaurants, cafes and shopping precincts, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Good deals are to be had by booking through Wotif.com (including free parking and an upgrade to a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Correne J,

On behalf of the Quest Launceston team, I thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our self-contained serviced apartments. Our unique location in the central precinct of Launceston is always a benefit for our guests. On our website, we always offer best available rate to our guests.

Looking forward to see you again for your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Pat S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here purely as an overnight stop as a family of five in the ground floor apartment next to the front door (2A). We checked in early and were indebted to the friendly staff for allowing us access to the apartment. Always a pleasant novelty to have the bedrooms downstairs, kids enjoy that. Sadly our stay was only for the one night with a very early start the next morning, not allowing us time really to appreciate the quality of the furnishings and facilities. The kitchen appeared relatively new (or unused) and had all the equipment needed, the laundry was located down in the bathroom and we used this with good results. Plenty of room, ample seating/dining for 5 (often a rarity) and the rollaway for our 3rd child was a substantial one. The town centre is right on the doorstep literally and there is good choice of eateries and drinking holes. Parking is by arrangement over in the multistorey across the road which is free from 3:30pm but beware, it doesn't open early in the morning. I moved my car out by 7pm to park on the street right outside the hotel door (plenty of bays) to allow us to leave at 6am, this could've been a problem. If you were being really picky then the apartment needed the lights on and was especially dark downstairs - not an issue for us but could be for some. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Launceston.

Room Tip: The large family apartment has 2 good sized bedrooms and easy room for the rollaway, however because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear BritinOz-geel,
It was great to read that your family enjoyed their recent stay in one of our spacious well equipped two storey apartments, especially the kids. We always welcome feedback from guests which assists us to improve our facilities, and I have passed on to maintenance your comments. For your future stays, we have 24hour access to the carpark. Electronic Fob keys are available at reception for our guests and I apologise that you weren't made aware of this option. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is located near the centre of town, and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The room we stayed in was quite large, clean and well appointed.

The only down side is that the lift is quite small and a bit slow, apart from that, it was a convenient place to stay.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mark&Rosa,
Great to read you enjoyed your recent stay at our spacious centrally located city apartments.
Our location certainly is a plus for our guests being in such close proximity to most of the best restaurants and great boutique shopping that Launceston has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Launceston.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us stayed here for three nights. Right in centre of town (with a parking arrangement right across the road at a cheaper rate). Excellent staff. But the two rooms we had were getting a bit tatty: badly stained carpets and some broken fittings (mainly lights). We paid around $330 a night for the two-bedroom units and, for that price, expected more pristine surroundings.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Oldkiwi,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our apartments.
We appreciate your feedback on the carpets and fittings and I am very pleased to advise that since your visit, Quest Launceston Apartments has changed management and all rooms are currently being reviewed to schedule their refurbishment requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to experience the ongoing uplifting changes occuring at Quest launceston.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Easy walk in and around Launceston. Wonderful recommendations from staff as to where best to eat.
The only other comment I would make is that we were not advised that the room we chose was below street level and had stairs going down. An issue if you are a little claustrophobic or elderly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear FelicityH,
I'm pleased to read that our staff were able to recommend several good restaurant options for you during your recent stay. We are very fortunate in having the best CBD location close to most of Launceston's best restaurant. Upon your next booking just mention to our friendly staff that your preference is having an apartment on a higher floor and I thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely apartments, we had a 3 bedroom which was actually 2 apartments combined. They were clean, comfortable and had everything that you would want. There were 6 of us travelling together and we had planty of room and didn't feel crowded at all. The apartments are right in the middle of town so handy to walk to anywhere. The only problem was the clock tower nearby which 'chimed' every 15minutes throughout the night, which kept one of my friends awake all night. If you're a deep sleeper, they are Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from clock tower side if you're a light sleeper, as they would be quieter. Mention f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestLaunceston, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Liza264,
It is wonderful to read your group of 6 people thoroughly enjoyed one of our centrally located spacious 3 Bedroom apartment. Upon your next booking please advise our team members of your request to have an apartment allocated away from our historic town clock. The constant positive feedback we receive about our central location, certainly a benefit to allow our guests to leisurely stroll around wonderful city centre. Look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Pat S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Address: 16 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.