We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty accomodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston

Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston to your Saves list
Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   229-235 Westbury Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“dirty accomodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This place is far from up to scratch with cleanliness we have now stayed here 3 times Silly us . The 1st time the room was dirty and food , hair clips etc left from previous ppl , the 2nd we was upgraded because of this and the room was worse we made a complaint and told it was fixed but on our 3rd stay it was no diff and i have the photos to prove it

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
24
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We've stayed in alot of accomodation in Tassie, and they can be shocking.This apt was modern, clean and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and the linen was ironed,fresh and of quality. The high ceilings gave such a feeling of room and space.
Even down to the modern plates and bowls, which presented our dinner nicely.
I have holiday accomodation, Alta Vista Cotttage, so i know the importance of the extras .
My son is 14 and he said we'll stay here again, which we are . We are booked for two more weekend nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

After staying here on several occasions it serves us right for doing so and for again being silly enought to eat there. Our arranged e.t.a was 2pm but room wasn't ready until 4.20pm. On checking our room we again vindicated why we bring our own glasses with us, as the wine glasses are, as usual, grimy with smudge/finger marks on them. I don't drink out of glasses at home this dirty why should I then be expected to pay to use unclean glasses.This time we brought our own milk as on our previous visit reception advised they don't supply fresh milk, you only get uht milk that is in the room, which had never happened on our other stays here. Again tv reception not good. Went to the dining room at 7.30pm for dinner and could see it was busy and were advised there would be a bit of a wait, approx 1/2 hour, which we agreed. 70 minutes later our pathetic food was brought to us, after the set closing time for cooking meals. A small piece of salmon that was heavily burnt on the bottom and was very very dry and when let fall on the plate, ( showing the waiter how dry it was ) it bounced on the plate. The vegetables were scant, heavily over cooked and appeared leftovers. The other - meal t-bone steak had the end cut off, it sat on top of dry looking chips with a blob of sauce on the steak and the side salad consisted of a small bowl that was almost entirely full of dry looking lettuce. We immediately refused to eat this pathetic offering and the waiter even agreed and apologised for the food. Another group of diners came over to us and told us there meals were crap and they would not eat them and they were now being refused to be given their money back. Our waiter took out name and ph no for management to contact us which, as has happened before, no-one ever contacted us.
We have experienced terrible food here before, previously made complaints about the food, attitude of senior bar staff member, dirty glasses, rowdy patrons and their swearing etc and they were not followed up by management and we were not contacted until I contacted the owner, who I believe is from Sydney.
We have stayed here for personal reasons of it's location.
As usual we rate it to be as one of the poorest places we have stayted at - SERVES US RIGHT FOR RETURNING

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Food in Bistro shocking, slightly warm vegetables and lumps of chicken floating in watery gravy. Rooms - carpet feels like it needs a good clean. Bedding terrible one double bed and bunks. Mattress on bunk awful and no top sheet. Booked and paid for 2 nights couldn't wait to get out of this place. On the good side staff friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — close to Launceston and not expensive
  • Disliked — bedding was terrible
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

we stayed here b/c we were sick of driving and lost and it was in front of us, but otherwise i never would have. its very cheap ($100) for being so close to launceston. its a "family" place but it has a casino, bottle shop, and bar all attached to it, the rooms smell a little smoky/musty, awkward lay out w/ a bar in each room and bunk beds that barely fit in the side room, no apparent dirt, but didn't feel quite clean. the restaurant was decent, but quite overpriced and NO atmosphere, neon lights, visible childrens blow up play gym and buffet area and casino...
not a place i would go to unless you're low on money and traveling with tons of kids

  • Liked — uh..it was cheap
  • Disliked — neon lights in the restaurant, general grimey feel (pool didnt look clean enough to even think about)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

My Mother and I stayed here for the first week of our holidays,never been to Tassie before so chose because of proximity to Airport[14min].
The units are clean and the staff[which are the owners] could not do enough for us.
They have a very good Chef and the dining room overlooks the city lights.We went on to Port Arthur for two weeks but because we had enjoyed the stay at the Tudor Village we went back for our last week.
Kids stay free and there is a pool and a big cubby house for them to play in,close to town and lots of other attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston

Address: 229-235 Westbury Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Tudor Hotel Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.