We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral On York

Balmoral On York
19 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wouldn't think such a small place off reception of a hotel would be so good. Warm atmosphere and good food after a long day. Very friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast fit for a King !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying here with my sister's, we all thoroughly enjoyed the hearty big breakfast served up by wonderful friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great food and service, well priced and interesting menu... Highly recommended place for an enjoyable meal!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Average meal, standard motel restaurant, very little atmosphere. The customer service was above average though the plated meals lacked flavour. It's value for money but that's about it. Nothing else to report other than the drinks are very well priced for a motel restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for Money. Clean. Local to Launceston cbd. Great customer service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pros:
Food was really good, tasty and well presented, Hubby had steak and says cooked perfectly, I had the Hokkein Mee and it was crisp vegges and tender chicken. Only complaint is I wanted more but there was only one serving size and it wasn't big enough for my appetite (and I am slim built). The pavalova was overpriced for what you get so order something else. It wast a pavalova slice, I don't know how to describe it actually but it wasn't what I was expecting.
Room: Clean and tidy. Warm. Working television and reasonably stocked mini bar.
Service: Friendly, polite, helpful.

Minus- dated building externally and internally. Brick facade internally which creates closed in feeling.

Could do with better noise insulation, we were in room 12 which faces the street and whilst it wasn't unbearable there was noise. The door to the balcony rattled somewhat overnight due to the wind. Needs sturdier door.

They offer 2 in 1 shampoo/conditioner/body wash. It is NOT good for your hair. You will need to byo to this one.

No room service on Sunday night.

Overall: Reasonably well rested but if you are a light sleeper you won't like it.- Bloody church bells at 6.30am which can be heard. Enjoy the room service or dining as the food is very good.



  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balmoral On York also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Balmoral On York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral On York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.