We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very low quality sushi” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wan Restaurant

Wan Restaurant
68 George Street, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 230 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very low quality sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Undoubtedly the worst sushi I've ever had. Hard rice, sour tasting salmon. My family were all starving and love sushi...but literally couldn't eat it. The 4 bucks a piece is steep for a sushi roll, but id be happy to pay that for good,fresh sushi..what I got today was rubish! It tasted like it was from the back of the fridge & made a week ago...just awful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wan, you are missed. Bento, lift your game”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wan is gone, replaced by the same owners' cut-price takeaway offering. Sadly, the care and attention once lavished on the food is gone as well. Two visits in the last week - and both were unacceptable. Dining in is now a matter of eating from a cardboard container, and the sushi (takeaway) was neither fresh nor edible. As Wan was so good, we can't fathom what has gone wrong here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here expecting wan resturant but now a bento store i didnt care.
The value for money All you could eat is just devine. All u can eat sushi,fresh to order hot meals, it was all just simply amaizing !!!!
Will go back again and again !!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“WAN has gone replaced by Bento on George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place used to be WAN a Japanese restaurant that doubled as a sushi bar during the day. WAN was run by the same people who own all the bento box places around town. You can still get a few extras not on others bento boxes menus but the menu is very streamlined for a more casual dining after as is the drinks list. The best part about this place is it is now opened until 3pm and then reopens of an evening and you can buy sushi by the slice so you can taste all the different flavours. I enjoy sushi here about twice a week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing quality and value, a great little find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a Japanese restaurant for our one night in Launceston and came up with this little gem with the help of Trip Advisor. Don't be put off by the rather uninspiring interior, the food was fabulous (spicy tuna and garlic scallops were great) and the prices are hard to believe. I don't quite know why rhe saki menu read $60 a bottle, then when I asked if they served a hot one, I was told, yes, for $6 a small bottle, but it all added to the charm.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wan Restaurant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Wan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.