We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimaginative food that's bland and boring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kameo Coffee Lounge

Kameo Coffee Lounge
97 St John Street, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
Description: Entrances on both "The Quadrant" and St John Street
Restaurant details
Description: Entrances on both "The Quadrant" and St John Street
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unimaginative food that's bland and boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had breakfast here before work one day. The food was relatively affordable but was very boring and uninspired. I don't think I'll be back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have you got the time?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Really, really, long, long wait for any food or coffee. It's one guy cooking on a normal stove and customers coming in after ordering get served first. There was no apologies or explaination of wait time. Food is ok but nothing special.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow service - average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The meal took ages (around an hour) even the coffees took 20 minutes and at no stage was there an indication that there'd be a wait.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Kameo Coffee Lounge is in central Launceston, St John Street. As such it is a good place to meet friends and family in the city and get a bite to eat that isn't too expensive for families and yet provides good food and good service. Kameo has been around a long time. I have consistently met family and friends here for lunch or coffee, knowing quality would be good and I wouldn't be flinging all my hard-earned money at the counter. Kameo does a great soup in winter, a good salad in summer; toasted sandwiches are always good, and the coffee does not fail in standard. Kameo Coffee Lounge will never let you down. Value is excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere, Delightful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

When in Launceston, my wife and I have been to Kameo Coffee Lounge several times for light meals, snacks and coffee, and have always found the service and food to be first class, and reasonably priced. Opening times are from 8am to 4pm weekdays, and this unusually shaped coffee lounge/cafe has 2 entrances, either St John Street or The Quadrant. Very happy to recommend Kameo for quality, quantity and friendly service. We will continue to visit here when in Tasmania. There is a toilet on the premises for customers use, and some outside table seating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kameo Coffee Lounge also viewed

Kings Meadows, Launceston
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Kameo Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kameo Coffee Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.