We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange to your Saves list
Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 St Andrews St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seriously Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the cottage but would have moved after one if Launceston had not been hosting a racing event and was pretty booked up. Please read the other "poor" reviews as they are representative of our experience. Not sure who penned the "excellent" reviews or through what tinted glasses they viewed the property but I am now wondering if we stayed at the same place. Photos are totally unrepresentative of the property as we saw it. Wreck in the parking area, rusted gate posts, broken concrete drive, rubbish and discarded building materials across the area we overlooked, dead plants, unkempt gardens, unpruned roses. Loose/broken paving stones on the way into the property, most of the blinds and windows failed to work properly and were mucky at best. Paper cornet of previous nights/weeks chips in the fridge. No sign of antiques - just old bric a brac. Our toilet leaked and had to be turned on and off at the stopcock each time we used it (owner knew about it but did nothing to fix it). The place appears to be unloved and uncared for and we have seen so many nicer places at much less cost. I understand it used to be great.....what happened?!

Room Tip: You should probably look elsewhere before staying in the cottage if you want a nice impression of Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strahan, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful historic late 1890 mansion filled with amazing period pieces, loved it...
Great location,great views and very comfortable rooms.
The owner Paul was full of helpful tips for the local knowledge required to get around

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you want to stay in a standard impersonal hotel with the same old same old decoration with identical rooms down long grey carpeted corridors, then don't stay here. Edenholme is out of the ordinary, An historic wooden building with character and all rooms stuffed with antiques, including some four poster beds. Paul and Rosemary have got this just right, It's reminiscent of Portmerion in North Wales UK, & the Hoover House B&B at Gwalia WA. Tucked away, and quiet, yet within easy reach of all of Launceston, it is simply a delight, and deserves to be top of any thinking traveller's list for accommodation in Launceston. Irish Murphy's, the associated pub/restaurant in town, is highly recommended for friendly no nonsense value for money home cooking (in spite of the rather 'blockhouse' external appearance), with free parking after 1730 right next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very comfortable stay with great help from Paul the owner. Beautiful yet comfortable rooms and everything you need from a hotel in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was delightful with fresh fruit and toast with homemade jam. Paul helped me with taxis and restaurant advice as well as all the information you would need to travel in Launceston.

Room Tip: I stayed in the banker's room which is good for couples or singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful old home dating back to the 1800's. Room was very comfortable with a fantastic view of Launceston. Very well equiped through out. Check in was very plesant with a more than helpful Paul. Nothing was too hard. 3 nights of bliss. If I ever come back to Launceston I will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. We stayed in the Victoria suite complete with beautiful old huge four poster bed and a but of the modern comfort of an extra large spa in the room. E found it clean, comfortable and a step above what we expected from a building of this age. The owners obviously love this old and you can see they have put their heart and soul into keeping it this way. The room was enormous something you don't often get in more modern accommodation, I am seriously tempted to go back and stay another night before we leave this wonderful island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Edenholme Grange was a wonderful, historic and beautiful venue for our 2 day stop in Launceston, whilst we were on our Tasmanian honeymoon, and we could not recommend it highly enough. Our room was fabulous, complete with four poster bed, amazing spa and shower and the location was in a very peaceful part of town. Very close to the spectacular Cateract Gorge as well!! We had a fantastic time and will never forget it. Thanks to our host, Paul, who provided a very filling breakfast each morning and gave us great tourist tips. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange

Address: 14 St Andrews St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Launceston Quality Inn
Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.