We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Suprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Launceston to your Saves list
Hotel Launceston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Brisbane Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Sandor's on the Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Suprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A friend and myself stayed here for 1 night on June 2nd 2012. We were in Launnie for the footy. I found this hotel quite suprising for the price (rate was a bit more than usual due to footy $170). First the room 215 2nd level overlooking City Park a little noisy with traffic at times not to bad. Well yes it was outdated with decor and TV with only a set top box. I found the room spacious enough and bed comfy. It had a good heat pump (which is needed in Launnie of a night). The bathroom was okay with a bath over shower and above basin and in shower was all your shampoo,soap,shaving gel in hand pumps attached to wall. Room was very clean. The complex has a bar and reastraunt. Had a drink in bar which seemed cosy enough. There was also a room for breakfast in morning which was $15.00 for a buffet. Also free parking out the back which is good. Hotel is close to attractions and cbd and restraunts.If going to Launnie again for footy or boys trip i would stay here again

Room Tip: I beleive some rooms may have been updated may be worth checking. I would say the 2nd floor and abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
23
47
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The place is a little tired, but it's location is very central and within walking distance of what we needed. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were given room 106 on the first floor overlooking the park and initially thought that it was nice to have a view of the park.How wrong we were.
The room was nice and clean with a reverse cycle air con but only a old style TV with a STB.
Layout of the room was a little strange in that when any one wanted to pass the other it was like living in a caravan.
It was however a nice room with all the amenities included.

The horror night started around 10.00 pm when we decided to have a early night ready to travel the next morning.

Room 106 is very close to a roundabout on Brisbane St. and i think every hoon in Tasmania
chose that night to drag up and down the street past our room.

Then after listening to the hoons all night we must have finally dropped of to sleep to be woken at around 5.00 am by the council roadsweeper coming up the hill.We thought it was a jumbo jet taxiing up the street in low gear.

Not a scrap of noise suppression in our room and i am sure if we had stayed in the park in a tent it may have been quieter.

NEVER AGAIN !!

Room Tip: Do not take a room overlooking the park on Brisbane St if you need any sleep. Room 106 in particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Staff may be friendly but this is not 3 1/2 star accomodation, more like a low budget hotel. The decor is very dated as are the appliances in the room. Bathroom in desperate need of a renovation. The outside needs a spruce up with a pot of paint too. Location was good but noisy even with the double glazing

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booking a hotel 'blind' from another city can be risky, but I was extremely happy with my choice when I travelled to Launceston for a game of AFL recently and wound up here. The staff were very friendly, the rooms comfy, and the location was great. There was a bar which was handy, and the restaurants were just a short walk from the hotel. It helped too that we won the game of footy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I thought the place could do with a long over due renovation. I think it was built in the sixties and has not been updated. May be OK for a one nighter.

Room Tip: Look at alternatives id say
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westernaustralia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I don't normally stay in Motel accomodation, but when looking in Launceston I found prices a bit on the expensive side, probably because there was some kind of music festival on. Anyhow I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely clean room and they looked like they had been refurbished recently because our bathroom was very nice. The room was a bit small but had all that you needed. The staff at Reception were very nice indeed. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay with clean rooms and great parking you cannot go wrong with Sandors on the Park

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Address: 3 Brisbane Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Sandor's on the Park)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Launceston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandor's on the ParkNumber of Rooms – 68Licensed Bar & Bistro Sandor's on the Park, Hotel Launceston is arguably the best located hotel in the city centre as it is situated among historic homes, overlooks the City Park and is only minutes’ walk to the mall, shopping centres, and other attractions such as Aurora Stadium, the Aquatic Centre, Car Museum, Boags Brewery, and the like. It’s also a perfect base from which to explore northern Tasmania’s must see experiences like the Tamar Valley Wine Route and other local produce providers and visitor attractions. Accommodation provided includes a selection of queen, king, twin, and family sized air conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, tea & coffee making facilities, and lift access. You may choose to upgrade to a City Park view room to enjoy the surroundings, or opt for the extra spacious balcony rooms. Budget rooms are also available for the cost conscious traveller. Delicious meals and snacks are available from the fully licensed restaurant and a refreshing “Tassie” ale or cool climate wine may be enjoyed in the Titanium lounge bar after a day’s sightseeing. The hotel’s Titanium Bar & Bistro is popular with in-house guests and locals alike. Open for breakfast and dinner the bistro offers an affordable a la carte menu with a range of modern Australian cuisine for dinner, as well as a continental breakfast option and a la carte hot breakfast choices. Espresso coffee is available for purchase all day. The bar has an eight ball table and Austar channels. Ideal for business or leisure, Hotel Launceston, provides a great backdrop for your northern Tasmanian experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.