We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy, Clean & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Launceston Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Launceston Backpackers to your Saves list
Launceston Backpackers
103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Happy, Clean & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff who were patient and informative. Clean linen, well presented & heated dorm in a terrific historic-looking building. Wow! Bathrooms clean and functional. Large TV room, great kitchen and big dining room too. Excellent location to town and The Gorge.
The staff, and this place, gives backpackers a good name. Why stay anywhere else. Very nice. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance. I wanted to stay an extra night but it was already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks Peter M. for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
28
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gardners Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Big rooms, clean, great facilities and in a fabulous spot. A park across the road to read in and great cafe on the other side of the park. What else do you need and for the price....great value. Thanks guys, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Other owners take a tip from them on how they manage to keep a low cost but clean, orderly place with nice staff that show hey it's cheap but we won't make you sleep in a pit.
Well done launceston backpackers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you SJPBerkshire for your positive review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Just after you left we began some painting renovations so hopefully the place looks even better next time you return. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad backpackers. Location is very good for the centre, easy to walk everywhere from here. Room had everything you would require. We had private double room, unsure what the dorms are like? The shower head is very small and not a lot of water comes out of it so took a bit of time to get all the shampoo out of my hair! I have read that the shower head is small because of charges from the council. The heating was something that annoyed me, it was on a timer and the heater was on the ceiling! I thought hot air rises?! You can't adjust the temp so if your cold you can't make it warmer or vice versa. We stayed in a lot of 'budget' accomodation whilst on our travels in Tasmania and never found such stringent rules over the heating. The heating I think came on at 7pm until 6am. Luckily for us it wasnt as cold as Launcestion usually gets in winter so we were only quite cold not very very cold. I understand bills are expensive, i have my own bills at home but to allow people to freeze in their rooms is unacceptable. I don't really feel the cold that often but I was freezing, especially when I got out of the shower. We had extra blankets on our bed which took the edge off the chill. Other than the heating issue overall not a bad backpackers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Guest Relations Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review Deirdre. you mentioned the size of the shower heads. We installed these because Launceston Backpackers was environmentally assessed and one of the the recommendations was to install this type of shower head to save water and energy. You also mentioned the heating. The reason the heaters are on the ceiling is due to the Tasmanian Fire Departments recommendations. Heaters placed on a wall or free standing are a high fire risk because people can place items of clothing over them and Backpackers are the second highest fire risk business behind nightclubs. Free standing or wall heaters is also an issue which is addressed with insurance companies.
It is a good point you mentioned about not being able to turn the heating up or down and we are looking into this. Yes we do have the heaters on a timer, as you mentioned they come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. With Tasmania having close to the highest electricity tariffs in Australia this is done to only have the rooms heated during the evening and night when people are most likely to be using their room. The issue of heating does vary from person to person and we apologize for you feeling the cold. Again thank you for mentioning these points in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in a few places in launceston but if we need some where we can settle down, get a good nights sleep and cook a proper meal this is the place.

If we want to party there some decent places attached to the pubs in town but launcestion backpackers gets our return cash.

Walking distance to everything, Coles just round the corner, an actual car park and a cool cat.

It's clean, warm for the price and the kitchen is well maintained.

Only down side are the showers.

The short spouts from the wall make it a little difficult if you're taller and can be a bit of a dance in winter to stay wet and warm.

Not sure if it's a water saving measure or that those heads are low/no work, but it does bring the place down a little.

There are hooks but the showers lack the normal little bench or a chair, even in the new section so be prepared with a bag you can put stuff in. (Plastic shopping bag works).

Overall a great hostel if you want somewhere quiet to do your own thing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you Brent for your kind review. You did mention the shower heads. Launceston Council now charge businesses for the amount of water they consume, they also charge us for the grey water we dispose of. These two charges have effectively doubled our already expensive rates bill. The shower heads were put in to reduce our water consumption. I do agree with your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hostel was really clean and the manages were quite pleasant. The kitchen was always tidy.

However, since there is no central heating and the room heaters are on the ceiling, the rooms can get quite cold at night during winter.

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Dabramovici, thanks for your review. Sorry you were cold during your stay. Each room has a heater and we give out as many blankets as people want, but everyone feels the cold differently. The other night I was working and people had their doors open because they were too hot so we had to turn the temperature down on the heat pump in their room. Safe traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night because all the hostels in Hobart were booked up for the Boxing Day races. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who suggested some free things to do on our trip, such as the Launceston gorge which turned out to be spectacular. It was a bit of a trek from the town centre but nothing too bad. The room was of good size and very clean, the bathrooms a bit small but no real complaints. The kitchen area was great, immaculately clean and spacious, as was the dining area, with a lovely view of the park opposite. The building itself seemed very calm and open. As we were only in town for one night the no alcohol rule wasn't an issue, but I can see how it would grate with guests staying on a longer term.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Mollyhills for your review. The alcohol policy is really directed at people who want to drink a lot and party. There are always a few people having a quiet drink with their meal or having a quiet drink on the veranda. It's when it goes beyond a quiet drink then we ask people to go to one of the nearby pubs. Thanks for your positive comment about the kitchen. The staff put a lot of effort into keeping it clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Launceston Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.