We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Launceston B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

If you just want somewhere clean and affordable to lay your head for a night or two, this ticks all the boxes. Rooms are a reasonable size, comfortable and have TVs and fridges. The property is just a short walk from downtown Launceston and I found it pleasantly quiet. If you are looking for satellite TV or minibars, look elsewhere but I thought my room offered very good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    278
    150
    41
    30
See reviews for
150
269
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed for one night on a business trip to Launceston. I got a rate of $76 through the Entertainment card and note they also often have good web specials on their own site. As the price suggests, this is not luxury, but is fine for a night if you can get below $100. Some of the rooms have been renovated and I had one of these - it has comfy furniture and is quite large. There is a desk and a table plus fridge and tea/coffee. Only issues are that the hotel is quite near a busy road so can be a little noisy and I find that the blinds do not block out all the light from the exterior lights. Also bathroom was not 100% clean (I had to wipe around sink area). It is worth asking for a room on the top floor (unless you have mobility issues as many stairs). Also note no air conditioning so I would not recommend booking in height of summer as Launceston does get hot. They are have a nasty 1.5 - 3.5% credit card surcharge so bring cash or an EFTPOS card if you can. Worth considering for free parking and good location if you can score a cheap deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Basic motel, a little out of the city, whilst rooms were O.K. they were a little dark and dingy, as was the breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Penny Royal was the first place to stay as part of the tour de Tasmania....great rooms, great bar, great everything. Not much to say about the rooms, very old school but modern as..if that makes sense? Just try it, you won't be dissapointed....

The tavern downstairs is great for dinner and breaky....and for a few quiet beers....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We travelled all over Tassie and stayed in some wonderful places. The Penny Royal was cleary the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in both in Tassie and on the mainland. They tout it as "luxury" accommodation. Look at their sign! This is completely misleading and totally inaccurate. Why? Here's the list: (1) Noisy (right next to a freeway; (2) Smelly (3) Had to climb three flights of stairs to the room and when we get there the concrete slab separating the units looked like it had been painted over 20 years ago - the paint was wearing off all over and it felt like we'd arrived in a downtown Harlem hotel; (4) Kids were playing with a bat and ball in the main hallways and then football in the car park and no staff were around to care; (5) had to walk for about five minutes to reach the reception area - anything could happen where we were and staff wouldn't have a clue; (6) the furniture looked and felt like it was picked up at Vinnies; (7) the light for the bathroom has a sensor - you walk in and it turns on as well as this very loud fan - trouble is it switches off half-way through a shower and you are left in darkness and also if you got up during the night, it wakes up others you are staying with; (8) the carpet looked dirty, tired and was stained; (9) the shower will not stay hot - constantly changes from hot to cold. You couldn't even rate this place as 3 star. Friends, please, do yourself a favour and give this joint a big miss! There's much, much better accommodation in Launceston. Honestly, this place is a total joke.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The rooms are really large and have obviously been renovated. The bed have lovely crisp linen and lovely new bathrooms. My room was on the second floor and there was a bit of a hike up some stairs with a heavy bag but worth it.
It is really close to the stunning Launceston Gorge and I highly recommend a walk down there (only about 30 minutes return)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I love this place. This inn building is part of the Penny Royal village in Launceston. It's right beside the sweets factory and close to the Cataract Gorge and a walk away from the main street too. They have done a great job restoring the property. The rooms look amazing.
Good value, clean and comfortable.
The only disappointment was not being able to have dinner as when we checked in they advised us to just drop in by reception for our free drink voucher if we were to have dinner and when we headed down at about 7pm we were told the restaurant was full and could not fit anyone in due to some bus that had pulled over unannounced with people

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.