We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Launceston B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Inn. Our room was on the ground floor and recently renovated. The size of the room was huge, with one queen bed and one single bed (and still plenty of walking space), and the interior decor was rather modern despite its vintage outlook. The staff was friendly and the room was cleansed and tidied up duly everyday. There were plenty of car parks on the premise, and it's within walking distance to the Myer Department Store and a few restaurants down the street.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    154
    80
    19
    20
See reviews for
73
156
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We did not have high expectations of the Penny Royal but booked it because we were only staying in Launceston one night and wanted somewhere near to the Gorge. In the event our modest expectations were pitched a little high and it has to be said that this was not the highlight of our trip to Tasmania. The overall feeling of the place is that it is unloved and uncared for. We thought it would be tacky from the photos - but it is dingy and grubby as well. I felt really sorry for the staff who have to try and raise a smile in such a depressing environment. The rooms had been decorated in about 1970 in "ye olde worlde" style so there was very little light in the rooms, but the bed linen was clean, the beds comfortable and the shower produced hot water. The evening meal in the pub (part of the complex) was OK, but cooked breakfast was not good - rubber scrambled eggs, wafer thin cold toast, in different coffee - not a great start to the day. We discovered the following day there was an award winning restaurant just down the road on the bridge spanning the gorge so that might cheer the heart if you do stay at the Penny Royal. The Gorge trip was great the following morning so worth the stop over in the end.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — its grubbiness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Have stayed a few times here now, everytime it has been great!
Very warm homely feel, great location and fit out. Breakfast included and good price. Manager was very helpful and friendly too, nothing was too much trouble. I would definately go back again, and have already booked my parents in for there trip to Tas later this year.

  • Liked — Cosy Rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning and at the at the end of trip to Tasmania. The first "apartment" we stayed in was 2 storey, living room and small kitchen downstairs, bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. From the moment you walk in you are faced wih 1970's decor at every turn. The carpet was old and worn, the appliances in the kitchen were circa 1960 and the bathroom was a laminate lovers dream! Despite this, it was quite clean and well heated downstairs although upstairs was only heated by a small fan heater in the bedroom. A main road runs past the apartment and can tend to be noisy. It is situated in a fantastic place - right beside cataract gorge and a loveloy park and the walk to central Launceston is not to taxing.

On our last night we stayed in the "south tower room", up a flight of stairs, through a self-locking gate and then up another very narrow flight of stairs to the rooms. Again, it was a trip back to the 70s except that the carpet had been updated. This room was pleasant but cold so pack extra clothes if you get this room in the dead of winter. The apartment is also situated in "Penny Royal World" which fortunately was shut for renovation otherwise I'm sure that it would have been extremely noisy with boat rides and other kid orientated activities.

Overall, the receptionist both times was quite pleasant and allowed us to check in early on both occasions. All this place needs is a makeover and adequate heating and I would not hesistate to recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs, mould in bathroom and outdated decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

I booked this hotel before reading trip advisor and so I was a little concerned when I eventually did read the reviews. However, they must have visited before the renovations (or talking about the apartments as opposed to hotel rooms) as the room was great - actually amazing for the price. I booked directly with the hotel and got a great deal. The rooms have all been totally re-done and very nicely - in keeping with the old/traditional style of the building.

If visiting Launceston do some research on restaurants before you get there. We went to this very strange thai restaurant.

  • Liked — great room and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Stayed at the Penny Royal motel for 2 nights. It was great value and breakfast was included in the deal. The room was renovated and clean. It got a bit hot in the night but the windows open.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We booked our accommodation through website www.travelonline.com.au, who were excellent, great service, went out of their way to help and even phoned us to let us know that accommodation we had requested was not available. (thanks Kylie!)
We then read reviews of Penny Royal and were more than a little worried about it, but as it was peak season and little else on offer we decided as it was only 2 nights we would go ahead. We booked a 4 bedroom apartment. I also emailed the establishment to check if fans could be placed in the rooms (this happened, with a fan being placed in all 4 bedrooms) and also asked if the apartment was one of those renovated. I was told it hadnt been renovated yet, but had new beds etc.
We were pleasantly surprised. It was older style, the carpet was thin in places but all was very clean (we had a baby crawling round, the main dirt spotter on their clothes, and his clothes remained clean after crawling round endlessley for 2 days). The beds were comfortable, crisp white linen, lots of good soft towels, room was serviced daily with fresh supply linen tea coffee etc etc. It felt like one of those going home to grandma type of holidays. Old style, little windows and curtains which all added to the ambience of the place.
So if you are looked at ultra modern you will be disapointed, but for good clean comfortable accomodation with very large rooms, helpful friendly staff and super location right next to Cataract Gorge, (and a good price) then we highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The comfortable relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — There were some noisy older youth arguing late at night in the motel section
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.