We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Launceston B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charmingly brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Yeah, this was great. Gorgeous, well appointed and rooms and apartments, with rustic charm and style, but VERY clean and well maintained. Room aspects vary somewhat, so it is worth asking to see a few to find one that suites.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant on the premises is EXCELLENT. I thought it was a bit expensive to begin with, but then I discovered that the quality and portion size are commensurate. Nothing but good things to say about the whole place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    105
    58
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
106
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were upgraded to a studio from a hotel room. Fully refurbished and with a small kitchenette. TV was a bit old . Bathroom was very good. Whole place was clean and fresh. Convenient with off street parking. Walking distance to the city , and adjacent to the Cataract gorge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice comfotable room. helpful staff and within walking distance of town centre. had a good meal in the bar/resteraunt attached. good laundry which we used and room facilitys.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

After having a bad time at another Leisure Inn I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly receptionist. She gave good directions and was eager to help out. The room was fantastic! We were so happy to have such a huge room to stay in with modern furnishings blended with the historical permanent fixtures such as old doors and beams adding to the touch. After reading other peoples reviews I can see how these could be harder for older people to use and also get to their rooms as the steps arent very safe if they get wet. The room was heated nicely when we arrived and the bathroom was nice and modern. The only downfall would be the free breakfast included in our accommodation as the tavern is run by another business and we felt embarrassed when we weren't sure what was included in the breakfast and that the tavern weren't sure what the voucher was. The second morning was better as they now knew what the go was, but be careful what you order if your not sure. The food at the tavern was great though and it had an intimate feel. There is ample parking space and the hotel has lots of history. Its in a good location for Cataract Gorge and other eating areas arent far away.

Room Tip: If you find it hard to use stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

At $99 per night for a large room containing a queen and single bed, ensuite bathroom, dining table and good size desk this is value for money. Large rustic doors and overhead beams adds to this period building's atmosphere. We dined in the restaurant which was intimate and an excellent menu. If you book breakfast the night before you pay $15 instead of $20 for a full cooked meal. On arrival you receive a gift voucher per person for a free drink at the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean very comfortable and quiet. The walls are all solid brick and soundproof.

Room Tip: Rooms 235 & 236 are close to reception and restaurant ground floor for the disabled but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Adviser regarding your stay at the Penny Royal.
It was the Management and Staff''s pleasure to ensure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The pictures of the Penny Royal don't disappoint. It really is a lovely hotel. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent (it was included in our room price). Our room was very comfortable and we had a great time until we tried to go to sleep. Even though our room was not in the front of the hotel we could hear loud cars driving by. At 1am a very drunk and not at all happy patron was kicked out of the tavern nearby and we heard every word of the altercation. If it weren't for the noise, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Advertised online special $90, linked to another price of $95, I got charged $105 no breakfast supplied, had to request milk was not in the room or given at the desk, it was hard to open the very heavy latched bathroom door and the temperature in the bathroom was freezing compared to the rest of the room, and I had difficulty sleeping due to traffic noise........ wifi is not free, one plug with a light in it for the work desk so had to pull the desk light out to plug in laptop, minor problem but I wanted both at the time so for us we will look elsewhere next time and we wont reccomend the hotel to anyone I would probably actively disssuade.... Len from Melbourne

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
I have read with concern your comments passed regarding your stay at Leisure Inn Penny Royal, on behalf of myself and staff I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Milk for tea/coffee is offered to all guests on checkin, I apologise for this oversight on checkin. I thank you for your feedback and are using your comments to undertstand how we can better service guests needs and provide quality accommodation.
C.Long GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.