We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite lovely if you get a discount rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waratah on York

Save Saved
You added Waratah on York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waratah on York
12 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quite lovely if you get a discount rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed one night (Xmas night 2008) and was quite happy with what I got for my discounted rate off Wotif.com. If I had paid the full rate, I probably would have been disappointed like other reviews I've read.

I stayed in the first room on the right as you enter the hotel and it was a large room with a decoration only fireplace and a very comfortable bed. There was a modern ensuite bathroom with a single spa bath and a separate shower.

I had a back injury at the time so I had enough trouble getting my luggage up the stairs from the carpark but as others have noted, there are more stairs inside if you aren't on the ground floor. There was a 3 inch gap at the bottom of my door and as the room was right near the entrance, I ended up having to stuff a towel there to try and block some of the noise from the hallway.

The breakfast was basic, help yourself continental and I was lucky to time it so that I could grab the one tiny plunger available to make a non-instant coffee.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
3
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Our pre-paid one-night stay was booked with two person spa bath. On arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to a 'room with a view which also had a double spa bath' for an extra $36. Upon advising we had booked a double spa bath, we were told that the only room that had a double spa bath had been allocated to other guests prior to our arrival. We were shown the room allocated to us with a normal sized bath, and the receptionist said "well, if you can fit two people in there, you could call it a double spa! ha, ha" We declined to upgrade and requested she contact the manager, upon her return she confirmed that the room we had been shown was the only room available to us (no further offer of an upgrade!)
Otherwise the room was lovely and decorated with antiques and nice touches. What a shame! We will not be going there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

This was the biggest disappointment of our Tassie holiday. It was nothing like the photos portrayed. Total lack of service as we found when lugging our cases up two flights of stairs into an old and musty room which had the window propped open with two blocks of wood. To make a up of tea or coffee we had to place the kettle on the floor as the only power point was located there. Breakfast was an even bigger disappointment with the bare minimum being made available on a self-serve basis.
Highly overpriced and definitely NOT value for money. We could have stayed at the more luxurious, recently constructed hotel on the waterfront for around the same price.
We were completely mislead by the advertising and feel cheated with no recourse other than this review process.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Booked a spa suite through Wotif and got for a reasonable price.
Decent accommodation, but rooms were a little worn.
Pros- Complimentary Port in the guest room.

Cons- HEAPS of stairs to try and lug luggage up to rooms.
- Open fire in guest room was not lit, assume this was due to limited number of guests staying at the time.

Overall accommodation in Launceston seemed very average in comparison to that everywhere else in Tassie!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

For our last night in Launceston we stayed in the spa suite at Waratah on York, and it was everything we hoped for and more.

On arriving the staff were very friendly and attentive, taking us right to our room, and making sure we knew where the good resturants in town were.

The rooms are beautiful, very big with good views over the city. Small details, like port in the sitting room are also thought of, and add that special touch.

Everything was clean and we throughly enjoyed our stay. Good location, walking distance to shopping mall.

We booked through Wotif.com and found it to be excellent value for money. We would definately return.

  • Liked — Size of room and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I have just been and stayed at Waratah again and still love it! I walked down to Fetivale at the park and it was wonderful.Everything is so close.Tasmania has so much to offer- The wine and food was lovely. The staff are always friendly and give that extra special service at Waratah. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Had a good stay at the Waratah.Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room was clean and spacious. Only flaw was that the door didnt reach the bottom of the floor so we could hear people outside if they walked by.

Also, the location is at the top of a hill on York Road, so if you are going to be walking then maybe consider that.

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Disliked — Rooms dark and seems more older than modern.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waratah on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waratah on York

Address: 12 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Waratah on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waratah On York Launceston, Tasmania
Waratah On York Hotel Launceston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waratah on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.