We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hillview House to your Saves list
Hillview House
193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WIFI + BREAKFAST FREE
Ranked #12 of 29 Launceston B&B and Inns
Daegu, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would go back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for a night in Aug 2013 and loved it. Super friendly reception from our host, room and bed were comfy with a lovely view. The shower was amazing, didn't want to get out. Had breakfast included which was generous and yummy.
We would definitely stay there again! Great location, easy to find coming in from Hobart, clean and we got a really good deal on the night's accomodation.
Great place, felt very welcome and had a good chat about footy too :)
Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room on the top floor with a great city view. Had breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my favourite place I rested my car-journey-weary head in Tassie. It is smack bang in the middle of the nicest and most historical part of Launceston so location is a 10 from 10. The building itself is a stunning example of colonial Tasmanian architecture, but with all the modern essentials a traveler needs. Some may yearn for a "bigger tv" with "more channels" but this misses the whole point of traveling doesn't it now? This B & B offers the perfect contextual place to stay. The host and hostess are a faultless and loving couple who bent over backwards to accommodate our party, this included turning the radiator on in our room prior to our arrival "home" each night, deicing our windscreen every morning and answering any and every question we had about Tassie and Launceston. Each morning we ate breakfast which was a homely serve of eggs and toast, with muesli, cereals, fruits and tea and coffee till your hearts content. My girlfriend and I liked the place so much we stayed there at the beginning and end of our journey across Tasmania as we flew in and out of Launceston airport. Truly a delight and source of ever warm memories from a lovely trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hillview House is a wonderful place to stay with plenty of character. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed, and our host was wonderful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We would highly recommend this B&B accomodation again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luleå
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the Hillview House in October 2012. The hotell is real nice and cosy, the staff was super friendly and gave us a big room on the top floor with a view over the city. The hotell is situated a nice 5 min walk from city center and has free parking. We were also served a really nice cocked breakfast in the morning. All in all, a really nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The host Sandra gave us an extremely warm welcome upon our arrival and provided helpful advice for touring Launceston and Tasmania. The deluxe room is very nice but the twin room is on the small side and is also slightly dark. Definitely worth it to pay slight more for the deluxe room. Sandra and Robin cooked up a great hot breakfast consisting of 2 eggs, bacon and toast. There's of course also cereal etc. There's also free wifi. There's a couple of restaurants close by but if you want more variety, you can walk 10-15 minutes to the bottom of George Street. There's also a Coles close by to stock up before heading to other parts of Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great place, awesome hosts and very reasonably priced!
Sandra and Robin looked after us really well, gave us plenty of advice and cooked us a great home cooked breakfast (which was included!). They even bumped us up to the deluxe room because it was free at no extra charge. They were more than happy to give us plenty of advice on places to go, what to see and where to get a good ale.
The place was pretty quaint and cosy, maybe not the most luxurious but very homely and worth every penny. It was cheaper than most of the other B&Bs and exceeded our expectations.
Also located very close to town.
Definitely stay here again if we come back to Launie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose this place because of the great reviews. Our first impressions were not great, the proprietors had stuck a key in the envelope with our name and room number written on it sticky taped to the front door, at 3 in the afternoon. Not a very nice greeting! Found our room, room 3 and the first thing I noticed was the musty smell. My husband sat on the bed and almost sunk out of sight into the mattress! It has to be as old as the house! Mine was just as bad. The blinds didnt cover the windows properly so everytime people came back (last couple at 3 am) the entire room lit up like a xmas tree! worse night sleep i have ever had especially as i had to brace my leg against the wall to stop me falling out! The white towels were grey and threadbare, the kettle was dirty and had to be filled up from the shower tap. The tv was a tiny one circa 80's with 2 channels. We didn't stay for breakfast just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Hi,

I noticed your review from tripadvisor. We are the new owners of the property. We only kept one double room and we upgraded all others into queen beds. We also got in new towers and thew away the old ones. I am sure you will have a nice stay when you come next time.

Regards,

Hillview House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillview House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.