We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Romantic and Pet friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways to your Saves list
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable Romantic and Pet friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed there twice and on both occassions the owners have been friendly and welcoming . Great breakfast provisions and well equipped kitchen. Loved all the little extras, port chocolates, etc. The bathrooms are large with fabulous spa baths and beds are very comfortable. Cottages have small safe yards which can be enclosed for pets. Good value and close to the heart of Launceston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
66
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights and we found The English Cottage very homely and comfortable. Loved the breakfast tray and newspaper provided daily. The old English theme was very relevant to the 1800's including the front door key. Quiet and convenient, easy stroll to CBD, hosts Rob and Louise are very efficient and enjoy what they are doing. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on the eve and night of our wedding. My bridesmaids and I got ready in the cottage the day of the wedding. We stayed in the 'Aphrodite Cottage' which is basically an old house filled with beautiful furniture. Some of the decor was a bit outrageous (e.g. cherubs on the ceiling of the master bedroom and a chandilere in the bathroom) but this just added to the experience. Loved the fully functional kitchen and piano in the sitting room. Lots of little things made a huge difference (port and choccies on arrival, continental breakfast already in fridge)

Staff were amazing (especially as there was a lot of coming and going on the day of the wedding) and super helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have just spent 7 nights at Alice's. Our friends were in the Irish Cottage and we stayed in the English Cottage.
We were all impressed with the Cottage decor and furnishing. Rob & Louise ensure all cottages have little extras such as hearty breakfast with coffee plunger and tea etc, port and chocolates, fruit and afternoon tea (for the first afternoon). Nibbles and wine can also be purchased. The beds are very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping.
Cottages are as shown on the website and have so much character,with the gorgeous gardens adding to the setting.Rob & Louise are happy to answer any questions on the area.
Charlie and Sooty are the most social of the cats and miaow to be let in-ever hopeful you will feed them!!!
Cottages are well situated and within reasonable walking distance of sights and restaurants.
There are plenty of restaurants in Launceston.
Cataract Gorge is a must to walk, have a chairlift ride and a Tamar cruise. Also worth seeing are Queen Victoria Museum and city parks. A car is needed to see Devonport, Evandale, Bridport, Scottsdale and Woolmers Rose Garden.
There is a Coles Supermarket a 5 minute walk from the cottages that is open 6am to midnight
Just beware that even in November and December you will need warm clothes and umbrellas
If you decide to stay at Alices Cottages you will be delighted as we were.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed in the Irish cottage for two nights and it was really lovely. The decor was really nice and the bed was very comfortable. Everything we needed was there. We had a malfunction with the shower on the first night but worked it out after that and there were no problems with getting fresh towels. We traveled with friends who had the English Cottage and that was also very nice. The owners were friendly and helpful. Watch out for the resident cats, they are sweet but will sneak in if given a chance! Would recommend these cottages to couples staying in Launceston. The position is perfect, a short walk to the water and the city centre.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

On the 1st night of our recent Tasmanian holiday we stayed at Alice's Cottages in the "Boudoir". On arrival we were met by Rob who was friendly, courteous and helpful with directions for our onward journey.If you prefer modern furnishings
The cottages are located within walking distance of the town centre and within easy driving distance of the "must see" Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruises and Boags Brewery.
Although the decor of the themed cottage was not to our taste, it was warm, clean and comfortable with a nice two person spa along with lavender toiletries and a comfortable bed.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast provisions made up of Tasmanian produce and the self catering kitchenette came in handy.
I would recommend the cottages to people wanting a quiet, romantic getaway as long as you do not prefer a more modern decor.

Room Tip: light sleepers should ask about an exterior light that interrupted my wife's sleep throughout th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in the 'Boudoir' for a romantic night away from the children. It exceeded my expectations. What a beautiful place to stay, probably one of the best places we have stayed. i cannot recommend this place highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.