We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways to your Saves list
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mulit Night Super Saver
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the delightful Scottish Cottage for 4 nights recently. It is exactly as it appears in the photos and the service provided is terrific. The bed was very comfortable, the water pressure and temperature excellent. Everything was very clean and cosy. The location is ideal and a very easy walk into town, to places of interest such as Cataract Gorge and a multitude of eateries. All in all, a wonderful place - perfect for a quiet getaway. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We often stay at Alice's Cottages & Spa Hideaways in Launceston, and always leave thinking the same thing. It's very comfortable, always warm and the owners are so generous and friendly. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them, but they're not overbearing at all, leaving guests to relax in their own space.

We choose the Bonnie Doon Cottage because it's spacious and suits a family. The kids love the spa bath, and it's great to have a washing machine (you don't often get that). Small details (like extra crockery, so you don't have to wash up constantly just to eat breakfast) make all the difference. And if you're keen on Tasmanian produce in the breakfast basket, you're in for a treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here just for a romantic break after I'd had radiotherapy. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors, and the themed cottages were splendid. We were able to take our little dog, and had a very pleasant, relaxing, and comfortable weekend. We would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Camelot Spa Hideaway was simply the best cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our holiday in Tasmania was for our 35th wedding anniversary and thoroughly every bit of it.
Our stay @ Alice's Cottages was truely romantic and every detail catered for, gorgeous lavender shampoo and conditioners and body lotion, lovely spa baths and nice linen, also brilliant breakfast provisions in the fridge. We stayed in the Irish Shamble on arrival and Scottish Shamble on our way home.
Rob Louise and Cats were fantastic hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in Irish Shamble and Scottish Shamble and both gorgeous and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed here for a night on a brief driving tour of Tasmania. Delightful premises, tucked away in the middle of nowhere and with a lovely host – unfortunately I was a bit sick at the time and Louise dosed me up until I could make it to a chemist. Plenty of cats for company too, if that is your thing – which it is ours – if you don’t like them, don’t leave the door open!

Beautifully decorated and furnished with a different theme for each historical cottage. Easy walk into town for shopping or restaurants.

Great experience. Great place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

A truly wonderful place to stay in Launceston. We really enjoyed going back in time to celebrate our Christmas evening sitting around the fire, nibbling on the chocolates and sipping on the port, popping bon bons provided... A truly wonderful way to start our Tasmania adventure!!! Thank you so much. I highly recommend this delightful B&B accommodation

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Like most people, I tend to write reviews for the really good and the really bad places. This one is definitely worthy of the 'really good' category.

From the very beginning, the owners were more than helpful. Even their e-mails had a friendly tone. They went out of their way to make exceptions for us, taking into account our circumstances. It was a mid-week stay, so that might have helped our cause, but they didn't have to go to so much effort and we loved it that they did. One of their e-mails provided very detailed directions for how to find the cottage. Perfect!

Despite not being available when we arrived late at night, everything was where we expected to find it and the complimentary port and brownies made us feel extra welcome.

We stayed in Aphrodite's. Probably a little quirky for my taste, but for a night or two it was just lovely. Much, much bigger than we expected. A whole kitchen, dining room and lounge room with lots of homely things to enjoy, including plenty of books and music options. If only we could have stayed longer to make the most of them. Instead, most of our time was spent enjoying the luxurious spa. Once again, the bath gels etc were lovingly presented and just added that little extra special touch.

The next morning we noticed the gardens, which were also lovingly tended. It is clear the owners take great care and pride in their work and this extends to their services in looking after guests. Thank you, Rob and Louise, for being so friendly and helpful and for letting us stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.