We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cataract Gorge Reserve

Cataract Gorge Reserve
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 attractions in Launceston
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I could not believe that so close to the city was this naturally beautiful gorge and park area. We did the walk around the small circuit, great gardens, just a gorgeous place to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    321
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Special and pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a whole day here, there's just so much to see. Loved it. We just took our time and explored. We love how close it is to the city centre.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Surprise near centre of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This walk and area of relaxation provides outstanding facilities. The chairlift take one over the area to give outstanding views. In summer the swimming pool and cafe must give great pleasure of the local people

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the monkeys!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A great strolll and nice settings. You can watch the monkeys for hours going about their business. Will be great when they finish the renovations on the west side.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much thing special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

i visited to cataract Gorge on my last day Tasmania trip. I felt a little bit disappointed for here.
if you thinking about picnic for your family or somewhere to date with your partner, Yes it will suit you but not for traveller.
The view surrounded is so so just have rhe river with the bridge background scenery. And you spent your time by keep walking around and that's it!
It's not much beautiful as i imagine or think before.

Anyway, it had 2 good things are the restaurant inside serving very good food and The way to Gorge is quite easy not far from the city of Launceston, We took only 5 mins drive from our accomodation at Charles street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Gorge Reserve also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Cataract Gorge Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cataract Gorge Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cataract Gorge Reserve to your Saves list