We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. Very welcoming,friendly,helpful staff.
Refurbished rooms very comfortable. Very clean laundry area to do your washing. Location very convenient and just a short walk to City park, which was great for us as we enjoy an early morning walk. Also just a short walk into the mall for shopping. We returned back there for our last night before flying home and it felt just like returning back to home when we checked in.

Room Tip: choosing a room on the same floor as the laundry is helpful if you are planning on doing some washin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    153
    134
    59
    23
See reviews for
64
148
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Normally we have a great stay at the Hotel but this time we had difficulty with the spotlights from the front of the building. They had refurbished the rooms which were lovely but the cutains didn't close over properly as they were too small and the spotlights were very bright. We complained to reception at 10.30 pm but it was too late to move us as we were tired after a long drive. Easily fixed if they put in Holland blinds in the front rooms of the hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for one at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great refurbished rooms 2 double beds got a special including breakfast and parking great value.
Right in the city area walking distance to everything
Staff friendly lot of choices in the breakfast buffet can park the car and go shopping or out for dinner and not worry about parking

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spent 2 nights here. Maybe it was the weather but I found it cold inside the room. That said, in room was fine in all other respects. Centrally located--and spacious inside, with decent bar and restaurant (broad selection of dishes).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My aunt, a friend and I stayed here for a quilting retreat in May. There were over 100 ladies here for the event. We booked a rate through my wholesaler (I am an agent) as we got a better room only rate that way than using the retreat rate. We booked 2 refurbished superior rooms (1 x King and 1 x Twin) and requested interconnecting (I had done research by phoning the hotel to find out what we could interconnect). I had the request phoned through at booking and a few days prior to check in, I phoned to confirm interconnecting which we got.
Massive amount of space. The king room had a small sitting area. We had an interconnecting twin room with this.
2 rooms= 2 bathrooms (King was shower over bath) and in the King there was a great space for putting our luggage.
My main complaint? Not enough light in the rooms. It is so dim!!! Put in some brighter globes and maybe some more lights? We had come here for a craft retreat, I could barely see.
Further to this, one our first night, quite late, we had a toilet that wouldn't stop running water. We called maintenance and unfortunately the young chap knew less than us. We explained that the tap was in the wall (he needed to get some tools) and so eventually the toilet was turned off until the morning. We had 2 bathrooms so it didn't matter. He offered us to move and we said no, not unless we move both rooms and we are still interconnecting.
The plumbing got fixed, not before we had to ask for the second time though for it to be fixed.
Parking at this hotel is payable at I think from memory $6 a day? It is outside and is the big carpark next door to the hotel- not overly secure but we were happy.
I was glad for our room location as some of the ladies complained about loud music from the club down one side over the weekend nights.
Buffet breakfast was good and we got a good rate.
They have a happy hour for drinks late in the afternoon and coffee all day is cheap and great and BIG.
Reception staff are relatively complacent.
Internet is payable and is EXPENSIVE at this hotel.
I constantly pain with paying for internet at a hotel. It does not need to rob it's patrons of money for this service. A hotel needs it for it's business and therefore the extra cost is negligible. If a 3 * Comfort Inn can offer it for free, I fail to see how a big chain like this has to charge ridiculously high rates.

Now for our retreat, the wait staff were absolutely amazing. They couldn't do enough and when we got alternate drop on the dinner, the boys did their best to sort us out with what we wanted.
The food here was plentiful and excellent quality. We had all meals except breakfast supplied including morning and afternoon tea and none of it disappointed. Great salads at lunch and fabulous mains at dinner. The wait staff are a credit to this hotel.

Conferencing Facilities:
We came here for a craft retreat but the hotel unfortunately couldn't quite grasp this and thought we were an expo despite having explained to them that ladies were coming to sew. The light in the main conference rooms was dismal unless you were at the windows and as it was quite dark and cloudy outside, the light wasn't great.
The rooms were large however and plenty of tables and chairs to accommodate us.
The lighting situation was troublesome. I'm 40 with good eyesight and I could hardly see to sew. Imagine the ladies not near the window and who can't see as well.
So my feedback- get more lighting, even if people aren't coming to sew.
We all bought these little lamps so we could see.

Local Area:
A stone's throw from the sights and sounds of downtown Launceston. Close to everything and most importantly the Black Cow Bistro. The #1 Dining establishment in this town. Lots of other eateries in the immediate vicinity as well.

The hotel needs to make some improvements, but for location you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not on the side of the disco. Our rooms overlooked the car park and there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woollamia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent one night at the Grand Chancellor.
It was raining when we arrived at the hotel and had to unload our hire car in the rain, carry our own luggage into the foyer and then following check-in we had to carry our luggage to our room. We were quite surprised that there were no porters. We did assume that a hotel of this size would have appropriate staffing.
The room was very comfortable, clean and convenient. Quiet and well equipped.
The buffet was breakfast was average, overpriced for what we received. The available food was not replaced quickly enough when the containers were emptied, Again, there seemed to a lack of staff.
Overall the Hotel is OK but far from international standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It looks pretty flash from the outside and the foyer, but …

First problem was that none of the power points in the room worked, This was (eventually) tracked down to a power circuit that had blown. But curious that this had not been noticed by house-keeping earlier.

The place is fantastically overpriced for what you get. There are place of equal (or better) quality in central Sydney which don't cost as much. And then there's the extras. Like room-service for overpriced food, with an added room-delivery charge; ditto for breakfast if served in the room. Alternately you can buy breakfast in the in-house restaurant for a princely $25.00 for a very simple continental buffet. WiFi is also an expensive extra.

Finally, check-out. Waiting at the end of a queue of 7 people, to be attended by the one staff member on duty. Check-out took just under 20 minutes. Very poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.