We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This Hotel was easy to find easy to check into wern't told about the $6.00 parking fee per night. Rooms were roomy and clean. Bed was comfortable and the portable aircon was great as it was quite warm when we were visiting. We ate at the hotel the first night but really aren't into fine dining we were much more comfortable at the irish pub in the main street. We enjoyed are stay at this hotel and would recomend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    173
    158
    63
    29
See reviews for
76
173
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Time for some serious updating. The rooms are very tired and the furniture has seen better days. However a good nights sleep was had which is what was required.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

When you check into this hotel, you will find that the staff are very strict with their hotel 'rules'. Check in is strictly 2pm. No early check in available. Suitcases of hotel guests waiting for their rooms are placed next to the reception desk and you will be told to return at exactly 2pm. When 2pm arrives you end up lining up at the reception desk for around half an hour and it takes staff another half hour to give you your key. (Staff don't seem to understand that waiting for an hour could be frustrating!!!)
I asked the concierge if there was anything close by to do with children....I was told it's a 3 hour drive to hobart! He could have told me to walk down the street to the city park to see the japanese snow monkeys....
We were in Launceston for 4 nights and the thing with this place is that no one seems to understand hospitality. Hospitality means that you try and sell the place and provide the best service you are capable of. However....Reception staff at this hotel are unwilling to talk to hotel guests about the wonderful things Launceston has to offer. Staff at this hotel use the excuse of 'we don't live in Launceston, we just drive to work in launceston.' Hmmm....this doesn't cut it guys! You need to learn to be hospitable and let people check in before 2pm if the room is ready. You also need to learn about what Launceston has to offer....it's a great place to explore - but a little guidance for hotel guests would be appreciated. Hotel guests are after all the reason staff have their jobs - so staff I'd suggest you pull your finger out and be friendly, hospitable and learn about Launceston and give valuable advice to hotel guests. The toilet broke in our room and kept filling to the top of the bowl. I phoned reception. Reception sent up housekeeping to check the toilet. Housekeeping sent reception up to look at the toilet. Reception phoned back and said we could stay in the room but the toilet wouldn't be fixed today or we could have another room from 12pm. Great. We had a wedding to be at by 1pm. It was 9 am. I was told that if I wanted a different room, I would have to check out of the room I was in and come back at 12pm to check into the new room. My response - No. I will stay in this room until our new room is ready.
I sweet talked the housekeeping team, but was told that they were very busy and really didn't have time for this. Guess what.....I paid $129 a night for this room and I don't have time for this!
The only plus for this hotel is the location and that it is a reasonably clean hotel.
The aircon is terrible. It is a portable unit fixed into the wall. There is heat available and this works well. However....it is not marked heat at the switch and this was a refurbished room. I would not stay here again. It is the Australian faulty towers. We were also overcharged at the end of our stay and had to sort out our bill before leaving to the airport.
Parking is $6 a night. However, if you are staying here on a weekend you may not get a park. It is a public car park - you will be billed weather or not you are able to park here. We had an iron but no ironing board. Housekeeping told us it would be delivered in half an hour. 4 hours later we asked again...and ended up having to go and collect it ourselves. Would I stay here again? Not likely. This is not a 4.5 star hotel. More likely a 2.5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at hotel charles - I heard that was a good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

One of the cheapest places to stay with children in Launceston in the centre of town as long as the kids don't mind sharing a double bed and you don't mind all being in the same room. Close to center of city, nice views, clean quiet rooms, pleasant staff and a quality hotel. Fairly close to the public pool which is heated and enclosed and to the city park. I've never eaten in the restaurant as there are good bakeries and resaturants close by. Some people have commented on the parking ( you have to pay for an outside insecure park but our car has always been fine).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We traveled to Tasmania during the Christmas period and stayed 2 nights in Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston. The location of the hotel was great. Just 50 meters away from the beautiful city park and walking distance to everything. The exterior of the hotel was impressive and full of historical taste. The staff in the front desk were also nice and willing to help.

Unfortunately, that's the end of my positive comment. The hotel definitely need some renovation. The door of elevators always open before even reach the floor and sometimes they just didn't work properly. The room was big but the interior looks 'tired'. There's rust on the frame that hanging the iron and crack on the windowsill. The lights in the room were a bit too dark as well.

Another negative comment come from the quality of housekeeping. There were spider web (and dead spiders) on the window, and dirty mark on the bin. The bed hasn't been done to the standard that you'll expect to see in a 4.5 star hotel. The hair dryer hasn't been put back to its original place after I used it in the morning -- it's left in the bathroom with the plug still in the socket.

In terms of sleeping quality, unlike most of hotels which provide 2 pillows per person so that they can choose their own comfortable height, there's only one pillow per person here which was far to high for me. I had no choice but end with using the spare blanket as a pillow.

In short, all of these might be acceptable if Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is a 3~3.5 star hotel. But 4.5 star? Sorry, I don't think so.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic position in the city which is walking distance to heaps of city restaurants, as well as Seaport. We had the standard rooms which were very inexpensive, and I think were pretty good value for money. As we were only staying two nights, we also went for the green option, where you pay slightly less for the room and it isn't serviced.

The standard rooms are pretty old and tired and well overdue for a makeover. The beds were not particularly comfortable and power points were hard to find. The bathroom was huge though, and with a lovely big bath. If your budget is not too tight I would suggest upgrading to the newer renovated rooms.

We were very unimpressed with the restaurant when we went there for lunch. The food took forever to arrive, and when we asked the waitress how long it would be, she said it was taking a while as "everyone arrived at once". Given that there were only 3 other tables occupied - each with 2 people who already had their meals - we were a little bemused by this explanation. When the food finally did arrive it was pretty ordinary - very small portions for the price, and the pastry on the tart was so hard and dry you could barely even cut it with a knife.

I would stay here again, but only for a short trip and if I couldn't afford anything better.

Room Tip: Go for the newer renovated rooms if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We are in Launceston on Christmas eve and Christmas Day. We thought there probably will not have anything open in town so we stayed at this hotel. The hotel had an excellent breakfast bar for $28 (Australian) per person. It was a little expensive but the food was great. We were thankful that we stayed here during the holiday. The location was right in town so we were still able to shop for a few hours on Christmas eve.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.