We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seen better days but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Seen better days and service was no great shakes. Great Chinese round the corner. Staff and furnisniture all a little tired. You get what u pay for

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    173
    158
    63
    29
See reviews for
76
173
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent three nights here in March (we have family in Launceston so regularly visit). There's nothing wrong with the hotel, perfectly fine, clean, comfy, safe etc in good location and the rate we found through http://www.hotel-desk.net was very low.

BUT - the hotel was having major refurbishment works taking place on the floor below us, which we only found out about at 7.30am when the banging/drilling started directly below! Firstly why were we placed directly above the work, and secondly why were we not told at check-in about the possible noise. There was a letter in the room saying that work was taking place, starting at 9am...

We decided that we would go to the gym.. the hotel website and info in the room both had information about the special agreement that the hotel had with a particular gym in town. On asking at check-in they told us that the gym had closed down and they weren't sure of other options...

Not great customer service, and the noise certainly spoilt our stay. Saying that, I'm sure the refurb will be great for the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask whether there is building work taking place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I have only been here 2 out of 7 nights so far. I'm here for work conference. First off booked unto a room with 2 double beds, unable to change rooms due to the hotel being fully booked. The first morning I was awoken by Jack hammering in the adjacent room which continued all day. I was keen for sleep in given that I had spent 12hrs travel time getting to Launceston. We requested a room change which was granted as soon as they could which was great and a complimentary breakfast for the two of us for the disruption. I am unsure however how they can maintain a 4 star rating given the in room decor is outdated and there is not near enough power points in the room and the charge for a double adapter is like $7.50!! Female reception staff are very accomodating but the male I dealt with yesterday was incompetent, I'd still be awaiting his call to advise if we could have a room change had I waited. I have stayed in
other Hotel Grand Chancellors around the country and they are far more superior than Launcestons. I would only return again if work were going to foot the bill.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed for only one night as part of a 9 day tour around Tasmania. The hotel has a good central location in Launceston. Room was clean and had all the facilities needed. Breakfast in the morning was ok with a good choice. There is a charge for parking at the hotel as its a shared carpark.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is not the most plush hotel in the world, but I had a pleasant stay here. My room was not one of the recently updated ones, but it was clean and well furnished; I have no complaints overall about my short stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The fittings are little dated, and the lack of a light fixture in the ceiling annoyed me, but otherwise it is a solid mid-range hotel. The room service is reasonable, the service in general was very accommodating. The location is excellent for Launceston. The broadband can be a little expensive but that seems to be the norm in Launceston.

Not super special but my go-to while in Launceston. Very dependable. I've stayed several times over the space of 18 months and I haven't had a bad experience yet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlinghurst
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

After reading earlier reviews it was some trepidation that I and a group of 9 girlfriends heading to the Grand Chancellor as part of our package for Life's An Adventure Bay of Fires Walk [that is another story or review].
The hotel may have seen better days, but it all worked for us. Receptionists could handle the large crowd of 10 seeking 5 rooms - all rooms were placed near each other on the same floor. The bar was great & the free bar nibbles were suitable.
We easily strolled to Mud Restaurant for a fantastic feed.
The next morning, the buffet continental breakfast was ample and once again the staff was very accommodating for our group.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.