We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old bakery inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Bakery Inn to your Saves list
The Old Bakery Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 YORK STREET | Cnr York & Margaret Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old bakery inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is an outstanding accomadation establishment. everything about this place is 100%, 4 poster comfortable beds and easy 5 minute walk into the CBD. There is a little traffic noice manly between 7-9pm it wasnt to bothersome. Plenty of room and lots of antiques in the room. overall a brilliant stay I will be staying here on all my buisness trips and if i need accomadation for pleasure time this is the place to stay.c

Room Tip: Location 5 min walk to all attractions and CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    11
    6
    14
See reviews for
17
55
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a double room with a small courtyard. Even though it faced the street it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm.. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is all very confusing.
We spent a night here and loved it. The lady on reception was lovely, the cleaners were lovely. We met the owner the morning we left and he was perfectly polite and was trying to organise to have a mobile phone delivered to a customer who had left it behind.
Our room was beautifully decorated and very, very clean. There was a little traffic noise but nothing excessive considering how close to a main road our room was. We were in one of the ground floor rooms of the terrace house section, so maybe the rooms in the actual old bakery are not as nice. I really can not fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For heritage read old and shabby. Room looked out onto a painted brick wall. It was very cold and heater was inadequate and very noisey. Bathroom extractor fan sounded like you were standing under a 747 engine we couldn't hear each other speak! Room was so small we couldn't open our cases unless we lifted them up onto the bed. Kettle was like a tiny you kettle so needed to fill and heat it twice for a cup of tea. See photo. Everything was tired looking this is not heritage. I have stayed in better youth hostels. The Mill hotels are also poor. There doesn't seem to be any decent hotels in launceston unless you spend a fortune. We won't return there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I asked for the $80 room with a double bed as I was traveling alone on work and what I was give was a room with a double bed and a full Tasmanian oak kitchen. The room was lovely a clean and faced away from the roads, keeping it quiet. Breakfast was reasonably priced, but I didn't eat there. The room was inaccessible for any mobility aide and is not wheelchair accessible due to the stairs.

Room Tip: If you wish a room with a street view, I would think that rooms opposite that faced the street would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I noted the swings in reviews on Trip Advisor for the Old Bakery Inn before committing AUD $110 per night to stay here.

It was a choice that paid off, I had Room 9, facing the church, with the double-glazed porch keeping the lashing rain at bay, and allowing 3 good night's sleep ahead of the Overland Track in April 2013. Easy access to the shops, the Cataract Gorge, river walks, for a reasonable tariff, added to the room appeal.
Staying in Room 9 was fun, great shower, heated floor in bathroom, no noise. I cannot comment on the breakfasts, but looking in the window before the breakfast guests arrived, it seemed inviting. I would stay in the same room, if I were in Launceston again, even though it meant jettisoning half the contents of my suitcase to carry it up and down the stairs. 5 minutes is all it took to fix this, however.

Room Tip: If you have never slept in a 4 poster before, Room 9 can fix this omission!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A quiet gem of a place centrally located and homely. I couldn't have asked for more and my room was very reasonably priced. Everything was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast is available as in the morning in a lovely dining room true to the old style of the Inn.

Room Tip: My room faced into the courtyard and was off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery Inn

Address: 270 YORK STREET | Cnr York & Margaret Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bakery Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel
The Old Bakery Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bakery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.