We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral on York to your Saves list
Balmoral on York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A very good location close to Launceston CBD. Easy to locate and about 15 minutes drive to the airport. Clean, comfortable rooms with all required accessories and free parking provided. Friendly helpful staff, free wi-fi and a quality on site restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donasts, Owner at Balmoral on York, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for your response.

We are proud of the location and furthermore the continual improvement program of upgrading amenities, furnishings and services. We are delighted to announce that we are on the pilot program for the commercial NBN roll out, as such the internet will remain free and be of world standard for speed to our future guests.

regards
Trevor Donaldson
Balmoral on York

Winners: 2013 Certificate of Excellence - Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    104
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
129
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed, the rooms were dated but spotlessly clean with everything you need. Staff were exceptional and made me feel very welcome. Breakfast was good and cheap, location is good just on the edge of CBD and walking distance to resteraunts etc. Stayed at the front of the hotel on 4 th floor and wasn't bothered by noise and enjoyed a nice view over launceston. This is a place that doesn't look anything special from the street but does everything well and I would recommend it for over some of the bigger name hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Nice view from top floors at front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donasts, Owner at Balmoral on York, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

In reference to the outside of the building, we are evaluating a significant overhaul of the appearance, however the priority has been the internal services to guests.

Over the last 3 years, we have spent a significant amount on the room interiors such as new beds, leather couches, widescreen high definition televisions and have continued to update room interiors such as curtains, carpets, furnishings and painting.

Thanks again for your positive comments and we look forward to having you as a returning guest in the near future.


regards
Trevor Donaldson
Balmoral on York

Winners: 2013 Certificate of Excellence - Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

stayed recently at this hotel and nothing was too much trouble. Trevor the Manager knows how to make you feel welcome, very helpful and a credit to the industry and can show some of the bigger hotel chains the value of word of mouth advertising. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the restuarant was great. We now will stay here when we viist Launceston.
Everything is a few minutes walk and Trevor provided a list of restuarants and a map, now that is true old fashion service.

Room Tip: york street facing rooms offer great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A one night stay at an excellent rate of AUD115 that included a generous cooked breakfast for two. Very good value for a comfortable motel located a few minutes’ walk to the CBD. This motel is easy to locate and offers free spacious parking at the rear of the building.
Our room on the first floor faced the rear of the building and was very quiet. There were two windows that could be opened and an air conditioner. The room was spacious with a comfortable queen size bed, comfortable settee and table and chairs. The lighting throughout was good. In the bathroom there were no toiletry ‘extras’ (none expected) but there were generously two sizes of coffee cups, water glasses, wine glasses, a notepad and pen in the living area. TV appeared to be a ‘big thing’ and you are offered a lot of channels if you are staying in for the night. The bathroom was sparkling with ultra clean shower tiles. There were two big mirrors in here and a useful area for your toiletries.
Our room was the cheapest available and not ‘luxury’ but that was not expected at that price. We were very happy with it and slept well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good location, nice and clean, breakfast was a bargain for only an extra $7 pp as part of our deal. Shame there was no spa but the shower had good water pressure so that's ok Friendly staff, free wifi, very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were greeted before we got out of the taxi, the staff were fabulous and very attentive.
The rooms were spacious and clean with extremely comfortable beds.
Location is a short walk to the city and the harvest market on saturday morning.
Although we didn't get to eat at the restaurant this trip we will next time after reading other reviews

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Balmoral for 2 nights recently, we had a top floor room with nice views. The hotel is within walking distance of the city. The rooms clean and spacious, with a comfortable bed. Parking and Internet were free. The staff very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. The full cooked breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.