We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral on York to your Saves list
Balmoral on York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for just one night. The room was basic but clean. A good comfortable bed with nice linen and towels. The room overlooked York Street with a lovely view. I found it just a little noisy mainly young folk around 3am and the town clock chiming every hour. It's a very quiet town so all noise carries and I am a very light sleeper. My husband heard nothing.
Trevor does go the extra mile and it is lovely to be given a little more attention and service.
The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    103
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
126
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This place would be hands down the best value for money in Launceston. Trevor ( the owner) runs it with so much passion and precision and he has the best smile ans greeting for you always. The breakfast was the best one I have tasted in a while. And the service was just awesome. Absolutely have to come back to stay here again and explore Launceston. Highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. Price was higher than usual, presumably due to the NAB Cup match in town, but booked in anyway on the basis of the TA reviews.

Service was very friendly, always met with a smile and felt very welcome. Room was good, nothing exciting but comfy bed and Foxtel on TV.

Breakfast was fabulous. Yummiest poached eggs I've had in ages and all served with a smile, felt more like a B&B at breakfast time than a hotel.

Only downside was the aircon in our room. It was average at best, made a lot of noise for not much result and on the second night there was a constant rattle which made it hard to sleep. If it had been that bad the first night we would have complained but by the second night it was too late. We did mention it at check out and hope the problem has been rectified for future guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our first stop during our Tas trip was Launceston. We only need a clean quiet downtown place for sleep as we are the kind of persons who are out for most of the day. Balmore served the purpose well. We got a good-sized room toward the car park. Very quiet even at its maximum capacity during our stay which is around New Year.

We arrived early before other guests checked out and Trevor took care of our bags, and we were surprised that half an hour later he managed to put us in a room just serviced - which was great as that meant we were able to take a refreshing shower off long flight from HK.

Room was clean and shower was good as well. Breakfast was well cooked and included with rate. Never needed to wait very long. I especially liked that they provided cooked breakfast as many places have gone continental or even none.

They had their own parking which was close to full but nevertheless I was able to find a space when I returned late at night. It was valuable as opposed to the need to park somewhere else using voucher or coins - with rules which were rather confusing to people from abroad. We had a hard time finding parking when we were later in Hobart and our hotel there did not have inhouse parking.

All in all this is a solid place and recommended for its rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel which provides the best friendly, efficient and professional service. From the front desk to the cleaning staff everyone helpful and cooperative. Rooms very well appointed (fabulous shower) and it is very convenient with views over Launceston. Would stay here again and recommend to all

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW. Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night before starting the rest of our Tasmanian get away. The breakfast was great and we couldn't fault the service for check in, check out and breakfast. We would definitely return here on our next visit to Launceston!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We were only going to stay in Launceston one night, but after checking in and discovering what a great room and location we decided to stay 2 nights. Trevor the proprietor could not have been more accommodating. We had an evening meal at the restaurant, lovely. Breakfast was also included in our price. Would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.