We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral on York

Save Saved
You added Balmoral on York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral on York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While holidaying in Branxholm, my fiancé needed to have an emergency appendectomy. She was referred to Launceston Hospital, so I looked for alternative accommodation and found Balmoral on York. I had originally just booked two nights, and had been extending my stay until my fiancé was well enough to fly back to Melbourne. The manager, Trevor was excellent. They were fully booked out one of the nights we needed, so he made the disabled suite available to us, and at a discounted rate due to our unfortunate events. Trevor (and the rest of the staff) - thank you for your excellent customer service here - you are really doing a fantastic job with your hotel. For the first three nights while my fiancé was in hospital, I stayed in a premier city view room. It was excellent, I would recommend this room to anyone looking for high quality accommodation at affordable prices. The mini bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. The bed was fantastic - so comfortable. I was impressed to see a nice large TV with Foxtel. Nice towels and good bathroom. I will recommend this to my friends and hope to return under better circumstances in the future. As a side note, we ate in the restaurant just once. I had the chicken parma and my fiancé had a beef stir fry. The food was so-so, I think there are better options at the local pubs / restaurants than here. The service was quick and friendly.

Room Tip: Request a higher up room for a good view. City View room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
109
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N.E. Tasmania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After staying at many hotels in and around Launceston, we keep returning to the Balmoral on York as we have come to the conclusion, it is the best hotel in the area.

The staff are always friendly and very helpful and the hosts, Trevor and Sherryn are very customer service focussed.

The location is great being close to everything and there is ample car parking.

The rooms are well appointed and include everything you require. The only negative would be that the pillows are not very comfortable.

Free wireless internet is included, also a substantial continental breakfast, cooked breafasts are also available and are included in some room prices. The evening meals are very good and very reasonably priced.

They now also have their own website, so if you book via that, you do not have to pay the booking fee that places like wotif charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent one night here on the tail end of our Tassie adventure. We had gotten into Launceston, from Cradle Mountain, early around 9am. We had a wine tour booked that day and we were just going to drop off the luggage at the desk and check in after our tour. When we arrived we discovered the fantastic location in the middle of town. The parking was free and having a rental car we felt it was very secure. When we made our way to reception we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman. We told him we just wanted to drop our bags off, but instead he said that he would be able to check us in early so we could leave our bags in our room. We were astonished as most of the places along our journey had to check our room was ready at 2pm and this was at 9am! The gentleman was so incredibly nice and welcoming. We went up to our room. It was beautifully clean, big bed, big tv and great views. We were also pleased to see that there was air conditioning which you wouldn't usually need in Tassie but we were there during a heatwave. After we got back from our wine tour it was so fantastic to kick back on the bed and watch the huge tv. There were plenty of movie channels and pay tv to choose from. The only complaint about the room would be that the pillows were not very comfortable, but there were plenty of them.

We had a flight at 930am the following morning and weren't sure if we had time for breakfast, but the same lovely gentleman from reception told us that our room included the cooked breakfast, so we thought we would just maybe have some cereal. He would not have this, he told us to choose our breakfast and that he would get it made asap. He was not lying, it came out in 5 mins. I had delicious spinach, bacon and mushrooms and my partner had eggs that were poached to perfection. Once we were full, with plenty of time to spare, we had the nicest send off, fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and really loved this place, which is in the CBD area! Staff very friendly & helpful. Free parking available with full breakfast included in our Expedia.com rate. Rooms were modern and tastefully decorated. Three of us travelled on this trip, so for the 3rd person in the room, there was a single bed in a small room (no door, though) connected to the main room. Beds were comfy with nice crisp sheets. Would stay here again next time we're in Launceston!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed on 2 different occasions at this hotel (upgraded to a higher floor with a city view the second time). Our room had a queen and a single bed – the single bed was in a separate partition which was good for privacy. Our first room was a standard room on the lower floor. Both rooms were very clean and spacious for 3 people. Bed was comfortable with luxury feel linen. Toilet and bathroom were modern and spotless. In the city view room, the shower was in a separate room. Excellent because you could still use the toilet if someone was showering or vice versa. Towels were thick and fluffy. Toiletries – no bar soap but liquid handwash on a wall dispenser. Hair and body shampoo were the dispensing type like those on cruise ships. There was only 1 small lift but we never had to wait long for it. Except for the occasional, faint traffic noise in the early morning, I didn’t experience any noise coming from other rooms (doors banging, loud conversations, etc). Rooms had flat-screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge.
York St. is a one way street except for the block where the hotel is located. It is a slightly uphill (not steep) walk if coming from CBD. Adjacent Tamar St. is steeper.
A short stroll to Yorktown mall for Asian dining. Also lots of other dining choices since it was a short walk to CBD. Walking distance to Me Wah Chinese restaurant (booking required for dinner) and Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery. The City Park (Macaque monkey enclosure) is nearby.
There is a restaurant on site which we didn’t try. Handy if you don’t feel like going out.
The façade of this hotel was unpretentious but the newly refurbished rooms had a 5 star hotel feel. Off street carpark was towards the back of the hotel building – noticed it was quite full in the late afternoon.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. My e-mails were promptly replied to when I was making initial enquiries.
Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

No, this isn't a schwanky hotel - in fact, have done it slightly "on the cheap" during this short holiday. This place has renovated rooms, air conditioning, free wifi and movie channels, and a cooked breakfast to boot for $125 a night. Not bad, considering it's right on the fringes of the CBD. Will stay here again if we visit Launceston. The staff were very obliging and were quite engaging - really made the experience a pleasant one and can't understand why this place is so cheap! Don't be turned off by the exterior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size, very clean and with modern furnishings. Bed was very comfortable. Location is terrific. Very close to town and we had a really nice walk around the surrounding area. Guest laundry was handy and fairly cheap. Can't say enough about the very welcoming staff. We felt at home. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Free car parking, Free WIFI, coin operated laundry,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.