We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Regent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Regent to your Saves list
Commodore Regent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Brisbane Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The location was across the street from the city park. It was a long walk to the riverfront and the gorge. We were given an upgrade in one of the lower level rooms with a view of the park. The room itself was very nice. There were no grounds to speak of. It was just a very average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    37
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
18
33
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We travelled to Launceston for a wedding, and only stayed overnight. We were a family group and between our travelling party we had booked 4 rooms. On arrival it was mayhem. 2 rooms ready, 2 not, but the woman on check in had absolutely no idea what was going on. In the end all we could do was laugh. I never signed anything to say i was there or what room we were staying in, on check in or check out. There were others in the lobby with similar problems. One of our group was given a key to a room that already had someone else's belongings in it.

The room was ok, had a bit of a smell to it, but was clean enough. They use those wall mounted toiletries such as 2 in 1 in the shower, and hand soap which was completely empty next to the sink.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was basic but adequate.

The driveway was a nightmare for the elderly member of our party, much too steep to not have hand rail down the whole length of it.

I wouldn't stay there again based on their complete unprofessionalism.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is located across the road from the city park and an easy walk to city centre. The hotel looks tired on the outside but is in fact relatively modern inside. The overall structure appears to be the original but with a splash of paint, newish decor and facelift to the bathroom - it was adequate for the price we paid. The only downside was the shower head. It's a great shower head but positioned so low, that if you are taller than 1.70 - 1.75 metres, you would have to bend your knees to get your head wet.
The great thing we liked about this hotel was that the rooms don't get serviced everyday unless you requested it! We think more hotels should have the same policy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked our stay at the hotel through Flight Centre and expected a reasonable standard of accommodation. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the overall presentation of the room. The furniture was old and dilapidated, the walls were stained with smelly nicotine stains and the furnishings were torn and dirty. The whole place must have been in its original condition from when it was first commissioned. I don't think that hotels build in the seventieth qualify for heritage listing and one could be forgiven to think that management believe that it is a heritage property. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel with better standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Tassie, we got an upstairs room at the front overlooking the park. The room was very clean, a good size and modern as was the en-suite. The bed was comfortable with a light weight quilt and plenty of pillows to choose from. They also supplied the bath gel and shampoo. The wifi was free, 300mB maximum per day.

The restaurant overlooked the park, they didn't have any Tassie cider and only one Tassie wine company to choose from which was disappointing but the wine was nice. The olive oil served with the bread was rancid (tasted like it was filtered through a wet sock). The soup entree was nice and the mains were also pretty good (1 lamb & 1 wallaby). A large group (15 - 20) came in and the rest of the restaurant was forgotten about as there were only two waitresses. We were asked if we wanted dessert, I was given the menu, nothing said by the waitress, after a long wait and much deliberation I chose a dessert to then be told that they don't make that one anymore, I couldn't be bother going through the wait again so I chose nothing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed just the one night and enjoyed it a lot. We had a premium room (#6); the room was a good size, the bed linens very good quality, the mattresses comfortable, a newish LCD tv, the shower large, very hot and strong. Although the bathroom still needs an update and the living area needs brightening up (eg. hang some colourful photos of the region), on the whole this was a very good "value for money" choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Only planned to stay one night but we liked the hotel so much we decided to stay another. Friendly and helpful staff and comfy beds. Minimal charge for kitchenette kit which was appreciated. Good location if you have kids as it is right across from city park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.