We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel City Park Grand to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the City Park Grand and did not have a clue how amazing the hotel was. It was first built in the mid 1800's. My room was top class. I can't point a negative aspect of it. The restaurant was also on the same level.
Location was great, 15min from Launceston Airport. Taxi ride was $22.
Free car parking, internet and a huge Gym.
The character of the building was really impressive, with all its history.
Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
186
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It' is a beatific homely place ... However there is very narrow stairs and if u get first floor or second floor rooms takes a lot of effort to lug your luggage especially on your own ! A small touch old world charm .. The team is very helpful !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room I had her was fantastic. Very clean and large with Mod Cons I don't need. Just so well presented would be great for lovers. I was at a second level room and there was no lift (that I could see) so if you have mobility issues I would let them know and go ground floor. I ordered room service breakfast and this was only good. I also used the conference centre for work and I would highly recommend this for any meeting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous, immaculate, spacious rooms with lovely decor... BUT we were placed on the second floor which involved traipsing up THREE sets of steep, narrow stairs with our suitcases. The man on reception didn't even offer to assist us with our luggage despite the fact he could tell we two middle aged women travelling alone. Not sure how they get away with this from an OH&S perspective and I am sure there have been incidents where guests have taken a nasty tumble.
Would stay there again any day, but only if I was guaranteed a ground floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level unless you are into traversing steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Clarion on a recent work trip and was not disappointed. Stayed in a deluxe room which featured all the creature comforts and more, with a comfortable chesterfield lounge, large comfortable bed and quality fittings. Service was excellent on check in and check out.

Dined in the hotel restaurant which delivered a fine meal of salmon and a good wine selection!

Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Launceston. It is close to the CBD (5 min walk) and in a relatively quiet area by night.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 27 and would highly recommend this to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here recently for business. Room very clean and large. Chose the spar suite but cut ally didn't use the spa. Did use the we gym though which was very spacious and well equipped. This hotel is in a bit of a quiet area and it felt removed from the bustle of the city centre, but it actually is only 5 minutes walk into the centre of town and it being Launceston in winter, tree ain't much bustle. Better than average motel, great car parking and good place to stay.

Room Tip: Spa suite is large. Have a haggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel never ceases to be a perfect home away from home. I stay here for 2 nights, monthly, for business and have done so for 5 years. The spa suites are perfect to come back to after driving for hours. Clean, comfortable, classy! The staff are very friendly and always greet you by name.
The only downfall at the moment is the restaurant.... Once again changed hands and really , all corporates want is a good meal of meat and veg so to speak. Unfortunately the current menu is way over top fancy and not a lot of choice. I find I do not eat here, which is a hassle after a very long day of driving and appointments.

Room Tip: Spa suite a must for a beautiful relaxing stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.