We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting, good food & friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel City Park Grand to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Montreal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting, good food & friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December and we were absolutely delighted with the place. Though our rooms were on the second floor of the stables, I did not find it to be such an inconvenience. The hotel is a historic sight and is well preserved and charming. Our room was clean, spacious, warm and inviting. I loved that the bathroom had heating lamps that can be turned on as you step out of the shower to keep you warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    99
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
158
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zephyr Cove, NV
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed there in December 2012. We had a very nice room, nicely furnished with extra large bathroom and there was free parking. The manager of the hotel was an absolute delight, she was so helpful on where to go and what to do. It really was a nice stay in a charming town.
A tip if you arrive late, bring your own food. We checked in at 9:30 PM and were told the restaurant was closed, when we asked for a restaurant in town they told us everything was closed, other than McDonalds.

Room Tip: Ask for for room on a lower floor as there are no elevators and no bellman in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very pleased with our stay over the Christmas period. Rooms were spotless and very well equiped with a 40inch flat screen. We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and again no complaints, all fresh and good selection. Also used the gym which was much bigger than expexcted. All up a great place to stay.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We wanted something central and comfortable for our last night in Tasmania- this hotel was exactly what we were looking for. We had a Junior suite which had a King bed and two king singles. The room was open, however sectioned such a way that the kids could get to sleep with us staying up a bit longer. The beds, pillows and linen were are fantastic- the best nights sleep... The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom was clean and very nice. The hotel itself was elegant with lovely staff and a secure carpark. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there were plenty of places within walking distance. There was even an old shoe cleaner for the convenience of guests- the kids loved this!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel having previously stayed last year.

The hotel itself is quite nice, being very historic. However the breakfast was a huge dissapointment and was totally unaceptable.

We had breakfast here the year before and were very impressed, we had also had great evening meals. This time however the bread was stale and no tongs were provided so people were using fingers.

There was no butter only margerine, the cereal was also stale.

We complained to the hotel and received no response. We also put our complaint in writing.

Would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the ground floor rooms in old stable block. Hotel has no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cityparkgrand, Manager at Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with breakfast during your recent stay with us. On this occasion the restaurant was in transition to our exciting new Restaurateur, this was their first morning, and we thank you for your valued feedback. We note you did speak to the Restaurant owner regarding your problems experienced with your 1st morning at breakfast, this was followed up by an invitation for complimentary drinks. We assure you on your next visit expectations will be met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, well furnished and great towels in the room (not the ones which go soggy after wiping your arm). Excellent value and full of character. Fantastic breakfast. Also ate in the restaurant for dinner - excellent food.

Room Tip: Stayed in the stable block - big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we stayed in a deluxe room which had all the conviences of a 5star room. Bathroom was clean and fresh with quality ammenties. Room was beautifully appointed with quality furniture, bedding and television. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.