We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern in a historical setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel City Park Grand to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Clean and modern in a historical setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wonderful stay, clean hotel, comfortable beds. Love the spa rooms! Within walking distance from the city centre. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
186
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After a long flight, we were happy to stay at this beautiful property with all amenities in the room complimentary, we slept like babies in their lavish beds and woke up early to have breakfast prior to our daily activities, when we arrived we were greeted by a young man who was fabulous and got us seated in the dining room promptly, after a resonable wait for our eggs, they were presented to the table and looked as though they had been thrown on the plate they were stone cold and messy. it wasnt the best breakfast for a hotel trying to be the best in the beautiful city, But I cannot complain about our room in the stables building on the back of the property it was so spacious and comfortable, We will happily stay again maybe just skip the expensive breakfast, wasnt the best.

Room Tip: Stables are the best rooms as there is not an elevator in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Every need is catered for in the room with little touches such as nice selection of tea, make up removal pads, makeup mirror in bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having found the hotel via TripAdvisor, I'm happy to contribute a positive review for the Clarion. We arrived at 10:15am expecting to leave bags and return later but the room was ready. Room was comfortable and stylish, there was space for our stuff in the fridge, beds were great, lots of space. The staff were friendly and helpful ... all the time. We ate breakfast at the hotel too and found that to be pretty good (punctuated by the pancake machine - yum). A short stroll into the city and an even shorter stroll to Aurora to watch the mighty Hawks smash the Roos. Buddy kicked 13 and we had a great stay. Thanks Clarion folk. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Hotel is on three levels with no lift (which didn't bother us, but people might be inconvenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very surprised at how great this place was. Big screen tv, ihome dock for iPhone, toiletries under the sink had everything including makeup pads and razor. Rooms clean and had foxtel. Great breakfast and staff very friendly. Ate at the Larceny restaurant one night for dinner which also quite good. Comfy bed, nice size bathroom, quiet. Lobby area also has tv, papers and comfy couches. Only downfall was no wifi in room only cable. There was also free off street parking with undercover option. Definitely a great find.

Room Tip: No elevator but staff help with bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay overnight in Launceston and after looking at reviews booked at the Clarion and we were very happy with our choice. We arrived in Launceston early as we had a wedding to attend and didn't expect to get our room but the helpful staff at reception said they would ensure it was cleaned. It was ready when we returned from walking up the street and having coffee at the Farmers Marketnthat we stumbled across.

The room was spacious with a double and single as my husband and I were travelling with our daughter. There was nothing I could fault, the room was spotlessly clean, well equipped with a flat screen TV. There were many bathroom products provided and I was pleasantly surprised to find toothbrushes as I had forgotten mine. The one thing that really impressed us was the warmth of the room. Having been to Launceston before I was aware of how cold it gets at night this time of the year. Our room was at a constant temperature throughout our stay and we didnt have to use the heating/cooling facility in the room. The hotel is very well located to the city and the park. We didn't have a car and were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We will have no hesitation retuning if we need to stay overnight in Launceston in the future.

Room Tip: Room 36 had a double and a single In a good sized room. It was on 3rd floor and there were stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for a business trip. Room 34 is on the second level, yes there are stairs but staff are willing to help carry bags up. Room was clean, and tastefully decorated. I love that they catered for ladies by having makeup removal pads under the sink and a hairdryer that actually works. Enjoyed the Ipod player and flat-screen TV. Helped me to unwind after a day at work. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars, was one of the staff forgot to knock before they entered my room, which obviously scared and shocked me! He did apologise and realized his mistake as he went knocking the other doors later. Good intentions as they wanted to put the heater on for arriving guests, however....I was already in the room. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again. Very close to the city with a 8 min walk!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.