We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Business,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Corner - CLOSED

Saffron Corner
West Tamar Highway | Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Description: Local new restaurant that surely needs some mainland interest, as their food is terrific & very fairly priced. Would be happy to give full review
Restaurant details
Description: Local new restaurant that surely needs some mainland interest, as their food is terrific & very fairly priced. Would be happy to give full review
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Closed for Business,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I drove past this place yesterday, 11/12/2012 and saw that they had closed down.

It is always sad to see a restaurant close, and Riverside is really a Foodies wasteland, so When we originally visited Saffron Corner it was with such high hopes, But we were disappointed on so many fronts,

Bad service
Tasteless food
No atmosphere
Bad food handling in front of the diner
Untrained staff

all a recipe for disaster.

Hopefully someone will take on this site and give some good value for money,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“This was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a suburban restaurant and take-away with reasonable food and service.
What I didn't like was the fact that what was offered on the menu was different from their menu on their website. I had gone their specifically because they offered several varieties of dosai (a south Indian pancake) accompanied by a choice of curry and chutney on the side for $14.90. When I got there, their in house menu had just the dosai for a couple of dollars cheaper. Curry had to be ordered seperately so it ended up costing twice as much to get what I had felt like eating.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Whats the go?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I notice that this business has only had 2 reviews, both giving a glowing recommendation about the Service, The Food and the Atmosphere.....

Well what happened to Not only my review but another persons review that gave a complete opposite opinion.

The place was Rubbish. and the site Tripadvisor is going to lose ALL credibility if it starts white washing reviews for whatever reason!

Please explain why you have removed negative comments or I for one will pass a Review on Tripadvisor

Richard

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazing the improvement 12 months has made!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We ate here last month with Friends and to our surprise the restaurant has changed lay out, service and most importantly the quality!

We had a really bad experience and thought after 12 months to give it a try, glad we did!

Nice spicy food (but limited spicy dishes for an asian / indian) however I asked for my Rogan Josh to be 'Indian' hot which the cook / chef obliged!

All in all, good atmosphere, nice and cheap... Our table of 3 couples worked out to be a split bill of $60 per couple including tip and wine!

Good wine list as well!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've eaten here several times this month and generally found the food and service to be very good

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Corner also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 
Kings Meadows, Launceston
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.