We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mondello

Cafe Mondello
242 Charles Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 231 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went here for breakfast and the service was excellent. The place was packed when we arrived with a family just finishing up at a table, the waiter offered us coffee while we waited for the table to be free and wiped down. Food was really good - eggs benedict and eggs florentine are wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We came here for Brunch on Sunday & loved it!
The food was lovely and the coffee was also great. Nice atmosphere - we sat outside which was great in the sunshine. Service was friendly the only slight negative was it did take a while to get out meals. But we were not in a hurry so it wasn't an issue for us. We will be back!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Popped in to a Launceton cafe this cold Sunday morning and was suprised and enchanted! It was quite busy when we got there, and although the staff were noticeably busy, they still had time to find us a table. It had a great vibe which continued with great coffee - people talking, reading papers... just enjoying themselves. We both ordered the eggs Benedict, not normally a 'Benny' fan, but yum! Well balanced ham, good toast, and a silky hollandaise. We didnt feel pushed to leave despite a 'full house'. Sometimes it's not the food or the staff but a collection of things that just makes things right. Well done and keep up the Magic!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dreadful takeaway coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

These people clearly do not know coffee. When a macchiato comes full to the brim looking & tasting like weak milky instant. Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Food nice, could be friendlier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I popped in for lunch last week and was very disappointed at feeling invisible. The food was nice, coffee was good, but maitre 'd/manager, dismissive and not very friendly. There are nicer places to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mondello also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mondello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mondello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.