We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, fun, tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PX Tapas Wine

PX Tapas Wine
41 George Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61363315009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 248 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Different, fun, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

7 of us, fresh off our mountain bikes, dropped in on spec for lunch, and our host (I should know his name), quickly found us some room. The menu was on the board, and we ordered a variety of food. Those of us who went with the flow (sardines with salsa, tomato & chickpea soup) loved our meals, the ones who went for a BLT were less impressed, but then why would you?
Coffee was great all round.
I can see how some people would dislike the service - he's quite happy to give people stick for ordering a milkshake, trusting it'll be taken in good spirit. If you can chill out and not take yourself too seriously, it's a breath of fresh air.
This was my second visit - on the first, I had chickpeas with harissa (with a poached egg) for breakfast - you don't get that everywhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There wasn't a menu, which was an interesting experience and I like the idea, but there was also no mention of price until the bill came out...bit of a nasty surprise. The service was terrible, the waiter was rude and pretentious, he refused to explain how it worked, even when several members of the group enquired. The waiter and the chef kept going in and out of the restaurant, which was very unprofessional. The food was something I would expect from a quirky pub only served on chopping boards instead of plates. Some of the food they served was terrible and made members of our group feel nauseous and the rest was ok. For a place that's meant to be specialising in Spanish tapas, the only thing that was Spanish about it was the wine and that the portions were small. For the price of the food and the service this is a place I wouldn't go to again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Major ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

When we arrived there was no menu, so accepted an order for 3 tapas plates for 2 people. - "a surprise". Tapas plates were kind of average, not very large in quantity either, but the shock was the bill, $15 per person per plate for what I would have expected about $7 - $10..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kick as tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had 2 amazing meals here, lunch and dinner the next day, accompanied by a great Spanish Rose. Innovative, using fresh ingredients...paddock to table. They even make their own sausages. For dinner Damon kept the courses a surprise...the roasted corn was the best corn we had ever eaten, the prawns with crispy jamon were a salty sensation, the paella lip stickingly moorish and the best creme catalan ever. Would highly recommend anyone visiting Launceston to give it a go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went here for an impromptu dinner. Not having a menu was a surprise, but I knew the food was brilliant from previous visits. And it was 4 courses of mouthgasm.
Plus, its byo wine, so u get to drink exactly what u want.
It was so good I'm going back next week!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PX Tapas Wine also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to PX Tapas Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PX Tapas Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.