We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a happy place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star of Siam

Star of Siam
Cnr Charles and Paterson Street | Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
(03) 6331 2786
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 231 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a happy place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Love this place for the fresh, tasty food, friendly service & reasonable prices. Usually full of happy customers, so I would say a popular local restaurant. I am from interstate so have only been when visiting Launceston but find it to be like my local regular just around the corner from home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favourite Thai restaurant in Launceston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great food, great friendly service - the restaurant always full of happy customers and takeaway also seems popular. My favourite dish is the lamb wilh basil and chilli, but most of the dishes that we have tried are great - beef, seafood, chicken, vegetarian. There is also plenty for those diners who think they don't like spicy or hot food. There is Thai beer and a small but good wine list including some Tassie wines to go well with your food. We just keep coming back...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nothing really unique or special but good food and location in downtown. We enjoyed our meals and wine and the service was fine. Seemed popular with locals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have dined there 4 or 5 times now, the food and service is always good
This is Thai food how it should be - highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When we were craving for Asian food and spotted this corner restaurant, we were so thankful. And when the food came, it was great and delicious!
Guess what? We came back the following evening for another round of food.
Cozy place with tasty Thai food and Australian wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of Siam also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Star of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.