We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Charles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   287 Charles Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed here during my honeymoon and I found the staff to be exceptional. There was a mix up when we checked in as our booking hadn't gone through. They were able to fix this up immediately and even give us a free upgrade. This really made our day!

The staff continued to be more than helpful throughout our stay. Special thanks to Phillip!

We stayed in the one bedroom spa apartment and it was fantastic!

The highlights of the room included

- The bed! Large and SO comfortable with amazing pillows.
- The spa overlooking the city.
- The large bathroom with two sinks and a good range of toiletries (shaving kit, shower cap, tooth brushes etc).
- The cooking facilities (hotplate, microwave, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery).
- Quiet corner location. We couldn't hear a thing.
- Free internet - loved this!
- The flat screen tv with full digital channels plus movie channels.
- Everything was so clean and new.

I would love to stay here again and again.

The only thing that could make this hotel better for me would be a gym and a couch. The funky orange chairs looked cool but weren't as comfortable as a couch would be for watching tv.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    209
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
75
260
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010 via mobile

stayed in 'hotel king room' for $129 per night, only opened several months ago, so all new furnishings, big room, king bed, big clean bathroom, iPod doc, new tv with all hd channels, had a little balcony.. parking was free and was very close to lobby!! very impressed and would def stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Clean, bright, central, great staff, good food. You must stay here if in town.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Very impressive hotel. A recent conversion of a hospital, so the wide corridors and very tall ceilings make it seem very spacious. Everything is well-designed, very clean, and both functional and comfy.

A random list of things I noted - genuinely friendly and business-like welcome at Reception; excellent quality of TV picture (how many times is this NOT the case in hotels!), in-room safe, nicely designed and full equipped kitchen area in room, very comfy big bed and good quality spotless linen, french windows opening onto a tiny balcony area, clock-radio with an iPhone dock, complimentary fresh milk in the fridge for the coffee.

In a couple of areas, they've allowed design/style to dominate over function/practicality - the funky chair-thing at the desk looks nice but, because it has no back, is damn uncomfortable to sit at for long; the nice big swivel-chair is interesting, but there's nowhere for it to go - it either blocks the wardrobe doors, or the french windows; the unusual blinds look nice but it's impossible to get a proper black-out effect in the room.

There's free broadband access in the rooms, but not in the public areas downstairs. Read the instructions in the room carefully - at first, I assumed it was the usual chargeable arrangement, but it's not. Thankfully another hotel that is realising that it loses so much goodwill if it tries to charge for Internet access these days.

As another reviewer noted, the bathroom seems disproportionately large - the extra space could have been better released into the bedroom itself. The shower works well, but with the usual design flaw in hotels - in this case, it doesn't leak into the rest of the bathroom, but the door is so low that it pushes aside the bath mat when you open it. Not the end of the world, just a shame this had been overlooked in the design!

The eating area seemed busy but I didn't use it. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive maybe, so I tried Aroma's, on the corner just oustide the hotel on both mornings (a popular place with the locals, and wonderful vanilla slices and egg/bacon toasted sandwiches).

Note that the free tourists' bus goes from right outside the hotel (other side of road) at 30-minute intervals. Good way to get oriented to the city.

Finally, don't make the same mistake as me. If arriving in Launceston by bus (I did, from Hobart), the bus station is right next to Charles Street, and the hotel is also on Charles Street. But don't assume that means they are near each other - as I discovered after walking for 30 minutes, in large part uphill, with my luggage from one end of the street to another. Use more sense than I did, and try and find a taxi!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyclinglover
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed for 1 night and though the price/quality ratio was really excellent. The room was nice, new and clean. What I didn't like was that "free internet" was advertised on my room rate, but had to pay a fee anyway for accessing the internet on the PC's in the lobby. I find the 10 am check-out ridiculously early (even though such a check-out time seems to be quite normal in Australia). Parking was free.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Renovated hospital, we had a room with a kitchenette, super-high ceilings, had a city view which was great from the first floor, being brand new inside it's very modern with great features like LCD TV, free in house movies, LED lighting in parts, great bathroom fixtures, comfortable bed. On the downside, the blinds didn't work very well for privacy, the rangehood whilstled from the wind outside or bathroom exhaust (slightly opening it fixes that), the overkill of today's energy rules meant the shower is a dribble and the lighting wasn't good and most globes were already blown, all the room doors slam loud when closing (not good for a little sleep in) and you can hear people/kids running up and down the halls.

Most importantly, the staff were very kind and friendly (especially the restaurant crew), the food was brilliant, the prices as it's intro pricing are welcoming (for now) and the location is very handy with plenty of free parking. It stands out on the hill and would suit someone who just wants something clean (very clean) and different without being arty-farty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Seeing the hotel is just new it is very nice. We enjoyed the location 1 nice stroll to the city centre, didn't bother us it was at one end of town. Was easy to access the property and was nice not to be charged for parking. Room was nice, of cause it's new, bathrrom was large, but the shower could have been a little larger. Bed was comfy and pillows too. Didn't eat at the Restaurant, was some nice food place close by. One thing that annoyed was the door banging. Inconsiderate guests who let the door bang and it seems to go right throught the building, a bit of courtesy would have been appreciated early in the morning. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: 287 Charles Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles in Tasmania is modern luxury Launceston accommodation providing guests with a unique and memorable Tasmanian experience. Hotel Charles is Launceston's newest luxury hotel and is on the fringe of the Launceston CBD. Offering modern rooms (some with panoramic views of the Tamar Valley), the Hotel is in a newly developed complex. The building's art deco exterior has been enhanced by a sympathetic design approach making it an iconic Tasmanian location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.