We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL, REASONABLE LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Charles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   287 Charles Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worongary, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL, REASONABLE LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had one problem when we arrived into our room - the carpet clearly hadn't been vacuumed in ages and a very full rubbish bin had not been emptied. We addressed this with reception, and Rebecca handled our concerns with grace and professionalism. The Charles has no housekeeping staff on a Saturday afternoon (huh?), so after Rebecca inspected the room, she herself agreed, was most apologetic, and emptied the bin and vacuumed the carpet. We felt a bit bad - not her fault, but it had to be done. It is disappointing when hotels of this calibre are not on top of cleanliness issues such as this. The room was otherwise seemingly clean and pleasant, large and bright with a small kitchenette, very handy for longer stays. Loved the window blinds. But only one bedside table and lamp. Something we notice a lot lately. Comfy bed and nice linen. No street noise.

We liked it here even if a bit clinical, like the hospital next door. We walked into town - there are many lovely old buildings down Charles street to admire. We were supplied with a map and a great list of nearby restaurants. Coffee at Charles was good and the included breakfast the best we had in our short week in Tassie. A lovely array of slightly different offerings on the continental buffet (like poached rhubarb - yum) and a hot breakfast taken to order which is so much better than breakfast offerings that lie about getting soggy, rubbery or cold. Staff all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    240
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
291
19
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staff were all great, so friendly and helpful, and the room fittings were high quality. Quietest most effective air conditioning I have ever found. Location good - just a 15 mins walk to centre of town. Great food from room service.
But, it feels rather austere - I know that it is supposed to have a minimal feel - it needs someone to spend a night in a room (Spa Suite in our case) to see what needs adding. Some examples - bathroom - no shower gel (bar of soap), one hand towel for 2, a bath mat (needs a small mat to make it feel less clinical - you can overdo the tiles!), one light switch that illuminates whole bathroom in clinical lighting and switches on a noisy fan (so if one of you gets up at night to use the loo - even with the glass door closed the light and noise will wake up your partner.
Major lack of charging points - in lounge one double outlet to run kettle/coffee/toaster. One socket for TV. So with 2 laptops and 2 phones and a camera battery carefully plugging and unplugging, and crawling around needed.
The windows have blinds that require arm extensions to operate the controls (and I am tall with long arms) and do not blackout the sun in early morning.
Great leather sofa - but needs some cushions to make it feel a little homely. It has loads of space and quality fittings - and maybe it's the very high ceilings and the view over the entrance to the local A & E entrance but something just doesn't feel right and with not a lot of effort could easily be addressed.
Despite room for improvement it is well placed for a stay in town and to visit the local area, would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a revelation this place is.

Our room was modern, spotlessly clean, well designed and most of all comfortable.

The staff at reception and in the restaurant were genuinely friendly and warm while being quietly efficient. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and were delighted at the perfectly cooked meals (note: the cooked breakfasts are cooked individually to order).

Highly recommended. A hotel to judge all others by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

From the time you enter The Hotel Charles, you feel welcomed and appreciated as a guest - no 'toffy airs and graces" here. Booked over the internet, my only concern was an earlier review, which complained of paper thin walls and excessive corridor noise. My husband and I found quite the reverse. Whisper quiet is how we would describe any noise; double glazed windows and recessed doorways, ensure absolute peace and tranquility.
Andrew at reception could not have been more helpful upon arrival with suggestions for places to visit and directions on how to get there. Amy the following morning was also terriffic assisting with reservations for our wedding anniversary and graciously arranging a room upgrade so that my husband could have a massage in our room.
All room appointments are modern and immaculately presented; the executive rooms are extremely spacoius with an excellent kitchenette but the Hotel King rooms are also comfortable with large bathrooms
All in all, a wonderful experience. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Charles - not only for the quality of the accommodation offered but more importantly, for the wonderful manner of all staff associated with the front desk. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were pleasantly surprise with the space of the King Room that comes with a kitchenette and spacious bathroom. As there was a kitchenette, we bought really fresh local produce and cooked in our room on our 2nd night. The view was great too on the 3rd floor and round the corner there's coffee places where we can grab a quick breakfast or snacks. Centrally located in Launceston city too. For the price we paid, the room was a good deal!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Charles for a couple of nights during our Tassie Getaway. Rooms are immaculately clean and have a great homely feel to them. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was MASSIVE! Bed was super comfortable, shower had great pressure and the kitchenette was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Staff were freindly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I remember the Hotel Charles as the old Launceston General Hospital, so was curious to see what reminders were left in the new hotel. There is virtually nothing and the colour scheme and overall look is very modern. Parking could become tricky when the hotel is full but we did not have an issue. The rooms are the ex wards but again the look is extremely up to date. The inhouse restaurant has a cosy vibe, and the food is absolutely delicious - especially the desserts. Breakfast can be ordered to the room or can be eaten in the restaurant - there is the option of continental or hot cooked. Short stroll to the city but the walk back up Charles can be a little tiring. This hotel comes highly recommended and we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: 287 Charles Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles in Tasmania is modern luxury Launceston accommodation providing guests with a unique and memorable Tasmanian experience. Hotel Charles is Launceston's newest luxury hotel and is on the fringe of the Launceston CBD. Offering modern rooms (some with panoramic views of the Tamar Valley), the Hotel is in a newly developed complex. The building's art deco exterior has been enhanced by a sympathetic design approach making it an iconic Tasmanian location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.