We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cataract Bistro

Cataract Bistro
133 Paterson Street, Launceston Tas, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
63341355
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 230 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: I recently had dinner at the Cataract Bistro and had a fantastic evening. I would love to write a review on the restaurant if you could list the restaurant. Many Thanks
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Been here a number of times, some times not so great, but we always go back, namely because its part of the entertainment book and we get a discount and the meal can sometimes be fantastic.

Mildly busy, waiters friendly and attentive.

Specials given and drinks order taken right away. Ordered not long after, some bread n then oysters to start, followed by eye fillet n flat head fillets n chips.

Bread took at least 20mins to come, which was disappointing as we were starving. Oysters were fabulous, Bloody Mary, moray, natural n kilpatrick. The mains came about 10mins later which was good timing.., steak touch over medium but still fabulous. Fish n chips was wonderful too, nice, basic dressed salad n crunchy battered fish fillets, n chips.

Wine menu extensive..had a sparkling rose to start and then merlot with steak.

Would def return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cataract Bistro is one of my favourite restaurants and is within walking distance of the Launceston CBD and the beautiful Cataract Gorge.

The food is always first class - fresh and cooked to perfection. The restaurant is modern and casually elegant, there's an varied menu to please all tastes and a first class wine list.

Recommended for upmarket yet casual dining for lunch or dinner. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were told some unfortunate stories about the Bistro after we booked, but decided to still go. And I'm glad we did. The food was very good- well balanced flavors and very well presented. The wine list was quite diverse; when considering the selections of flavors of food, this is required. The service was friendly and well timed. Thank you for a very nice evening!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Better then the pub next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fancy without being over the top, we attended a wedding here and thoroughly enjoyed the eye fillet steak, cooked to perfection!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sadly not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had heard good reviews regarding this restaurant. Sadly when myself and friends ate there, the food was good. However, the service was shocking. The restaurant was busy, but there was a very long wait between courses and we had to go to the bar for our drinks as the waiter forgot the order TWICE!! I would not return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cataract Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cataract Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.