We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positioned in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Josef Chromy Cafe

Josef Chromy Cafe
370 Relbia Rd | Relbia, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
6335 8700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 231 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Cafe restaurant is within the Josef Chromy winery in Relbia, just outside Launceston
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Positioned in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We found the ambience very good, as we took our elderly parents we found we could talk without having to yell. In many restaurants these days there seems to be a competition as to who can talk the loudest . The service was friendly and efficient with the waiting staff taking a genuine interest in the quality of our food.
Our food was cooked as requested, the only annoying thing is there is a trend these days to have to purchase extra greens, etc. This extra cost added to our mains ( which were already quite costly) made for an expensive meal. Wine selection was good as you would expect at a winery .
I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, relaxing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We hadn't been to Joseph Chromy since before the opening of their restaurant, which is addition to the café. The restaurant has ample seating indoors but we sat outside on the verandah on a day when the weather was near perfect.

From our table we enjoyed wonderful views of the vineyard and lake, abundant with bird life. The service was attentive and friendly and the food was fabulous. We elected to share the gourmet platter which included fabulous Tassie cheeses and meats, pate and antipasta. We complemented this with a bottle of the house pinot gris. Dessert was tasty icecreams and sorbet.

All in all, a perfect afternoon and we will definitely be back!

Be aware that this is a very popular restaurant and bookings are essential.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a very pleasant lunch looking out at the grapes and the lake in the distance. Service was attentive without being intrusive and the food was well presented and delicious. Our party of 4 each had different meals and all were very good. Although off the main road the place is very close to the city and only took about 20 minutes to get there from the centre of town. Well worth the visit and I look forward to another visist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best meal of our Tassie trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Leak and garlic risotto with spinach puree finished with smoked salmon. Freshly shucked oysters. Crispy skin duck, cauliflower puree, beetroot puree, hazelnuts and other things.

Oh My Good Giddy Aunt! The food was absolutely to die for. The view was spectacular. The wine (Sparkling Sekt) was very well suited. And the service (Kate) attentive and interesting, yet unobtrusive.

We visited on a weekday arriving just before the kitchen closed (about 1345 - lunch is 1200-1400) and were delighted to be accommodated so graciously.

After lunch we headed in for tasting and received 10% off our purchase for having dined.

Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great place to go for lunch on a weekend - i had never heard of this place before and was taken here by some locals.
Unfortnuatley we did not get to sit in the resturant as it was busy but the cafe was just as yummy.
the food and service here are top notch
cannot wait to come back here again - try the pie out you will not be disappointed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josef Chromy Cafe also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Josef Chromy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josef Chromy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.