We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A speciality beef restaurant utilizing local Tassie produce!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Cow Bistro

Black Cow Bistro
70 George Street, Launceston, Tasmania TAS 2250, Australia
61 3 6331 9333
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 220 restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
hawthorn, victoria australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A speciality beef restaurant utilizing local Tassie produce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Gorgeous décor creates a warm, simple feel. We had great service, and an amazing fillet steak with a choice of sauces. My Truffle Béarnaise was delicious, and the accompanying broccolini and dutch carrots wonderful -delicate flavours. We were so lucky to have a meal here, it's very popular. I'd book ahead if you are planning your Launceston sojourn; well worth it! The steaks varied in price, but our 200g eye fillet was $34 plus $7 for Béarnaise. Worth every cent-delicious, and I am thinking of it again now with longing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    175
    83
    35
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ulverstone, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Could not fault anything about my recent experience at Black Cow. Everything was perfect. Between 2 we tried the lamb, lemongrass broth with dumplings, eye fillet steak, rib eye steak and the crème brulee. Everything was superb and I can highly recommend to anyone trying all of these dishes. Service was outstanding; attentive without being overbearing and polite. We were on a tight schedule on the way to the airport and staff made sure we were on our way in time. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well cooked beef with delicious sauces, extensive wine list and great service. Highly recommended for a great night out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully prepared tassie beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to black cow tonight, our last night in launceston. We were both a bit tired after driving up to cradle and back and wanted some protein. From the moment we walked through the door the service was excellent. Wine and beer list is great. A byron bay beer went down very fast. The selection of beef is excellent. I settled on a porterhouse and partner went for eye fillet. Both were seasoned and cooked perfectly and rested well so they were beautifully tender. The rocket (tiny fresh beautiful leaves) salad was pretty stunning for a side dish. Dressed and seasoned beautifully. Some people on here seem to go on about the mains only coming with potato gallette (which was lovely and i would have been full without a side dish even without an entree) but good beef is expensive and i like that you can choose your side dish and really, people, cook at home if you think that kind of service and quality can come from your kitchen. Im a very full and happy traveller.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You need to book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice restaurant. They have the monopoly of word of mouth! My message to them after tasting their nice level, of steak! Make sure your quality remains. This was my second time to the Black Cow. My first journey was wonderful. My second was my expectation may have been to high. Certainly worth booking. Thomas did certainly recommend a nice wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cow Bistro also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Black Cow Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Cow Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.