We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmarnock House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kilmarnock House to your Saves list
Kilmarnock House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   66 Elphin Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Kilmarnock House in room 10. We arrived but the host was not there. She had left the key in a little lock so we were able to enter the room without her being there. This was very convenient since I would not have wanted to wait! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. There were some niceties about this place: the heater in the bathroom, paper towels in the kitchen, the travel adapter on request, etc. Location is on a busy street, and we found that we had to do a bit of walking which we didn't mind. We would stay here again if we were in Launceston again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney , Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Staying at this superb Edwardian home , beautifully presented by fastidious owners , is a truly wonderful experience . The rooms , with lovely antique furniture and comfortable beds are large with all you need for a happy stay . Owner Libby is the perfect host . If you are planning a stay in Launceston I highly recommend Kilmarnock House .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What an amazing place to stay. Nothing is any trouble for the great host and the rooms are of a brilliant standard. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the mountains for two nights. Fresh towels and bed service was a huge welcome after completing a 5 day hike in the wilderness. We left a fresh cloth bag with Kilmarnock House when we arrived in Tassie and it was at the end of our bed when we arrived a week later. Big thumbs up from my girlfriend and I ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful old house turned guest house, well appointed, preserved and presented. The hosts are beyond reproach and give wonderful service. Nothing is any trouble and our stay(s) ( for we returned for an extra day) was a highlight of our few days in Tasmania.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Launceston - you are only 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre where there are good shops and places to eat and drink. The rooms are traditional, clean and comfortable with some basic cooking facilities. Complimentary sherry and/or port is a nice touch. The owner was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our family stayed at this beautiful B&B and absolutely loved it. Beautiful setting and great location within walking distance to the Park. The rooms re spacious and the decor within keeping of this beautiful old home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This ws our second stay here, and it was just as nice as it was the first time. Every detail is thoughtfully presented and it feels like you are travelling back in time to a more elegant era. The whole house is absolutely beautiful, and in a great location. The only drawback is the small amount of parking.

Room Tip: Staircase is a bit narrow, so ground floor rooms have easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmarnock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock House

Address: 66 Elphin Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmarnock House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilmarnock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock House Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmarnock House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.