We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthouse Hostel

Arthouse Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arthouse Hostel to your Saves list
Arthouse Hostel
20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arthouse is a lovely old weatherboard hostel on the banks of the main river flowing through Launceston. It has a lot of character and the guests are a combination of traditional backpackers, holiday makers and some that look like regulars. It is a very friendly, relaxed place and the bathrooms are cleaned daily and it likes the toilets are cleaned twice daily. The location is a short walk into the main center but Launceston is rather small so everything is a short walk to everywhere else. The staff come in each morning and leave around 8 at night but given there was no staff during the night I thought it was quiet and I felt very safe.
The kitchen is large and although not full of modern equipment it is practical and clean.
Really enjoyed my stay and would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
16
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic staff so friendly welcoming and helpful .
This feels more like a home then a back packers the living room is so cosy like being at your grand parents :) def would recommend this if you are travelling to launceston

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Staying here in the middle of winter meant I got a whole bunkroom to myself which was nice, and it also meant I had a very quiet night.

Positives:
Friendly staff
Old-style building, looks inviting from the outside
Comfortable mattress
Was provided with a top & bottom sheet (unlike other hostels)
Clean and new-looking bathrooms and there seems to be quite a few shower/toilets dotted around the building
Didn't insist on collecting a key deposit as I was leaving early in the morning

Negatives:
Was freezing cold all night as the quilt provided was very thin and the heater in the room was insufficient
the middle of winter

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Good sized room. Old cast iron bed. Old wood frame window making noise all night with the wind. Quite nice toilets - looking clean. Not the same about the kitchen that was plain dirty. I am glad I didn't have to cook there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hostel for two nights. It's got an old-fashioned feel about it, wooden floors in the common areas and all wooden sort of vintage furniture. Spacious rooms with high ceilings. Launceston itself is pretty small, and it's in a good location. Just a very short walk from the library/bus station in the city and only a few minutes from the city park.

I arrived late, so the staff left out a little packet with my key, a map, and bedsheets, and they'd given me the code to get into the hostel ahead of time. There seem to be a lot of bathrooms scattered around the hostel as well, including some private showers, and there's a little outdoor area in the back to hang out. I'd stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Okay room, no wii-fe, we did not wanna make any food in the kitchen or eat any thing. Very nice living room with big televison and good opportunity to meet other. Nearby is a Coles and baker, and parking, strongly suggest the owner to do something about this kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was pleasently greeted by staff, room was nice and clean, and the showers were amazing. It was easy to get around, and the building itself was a lovely old historic place. Only downside was a large group of backpackers staying up past the 11oclock curfew (around 2am) on my first night, in the courtyard right next to my dorm. These things happen.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher level to be away from the courtyard, but not essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthouse Hostel

Address: 20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1888 heritage listed building with renovated bathrooms and fantastic staff makes this international backpacker hostel a wonderful place to stay. Situated in the 'arts district', the Queen Victoria Museum & Art Gallery is only a stroll away, yet the city centre is only a short 7 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthouse Hostel Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthouse Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.