We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on the steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Barn Accommodation to your Saves list
The Barn Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   747 Punt Road (aka Nelson Rd or Glenelg River Rd) | PO Box 947, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on the steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just had one night here on our way from Adelaide to Melbourne, but wish we could have stayed longer, as Mount Gambier itself looked worth a visit. We did manage to see the Blue Lake the following morning which was quite an amazing sight - and it really was blue!

The reception area was impressive, but not so the exterior of the section we were in, which was obviously part of the original motel and resembled a rather run-down cell block! Fortunately once inside, the room was like any other better-than-average motel room, much to our relief. However, the newer parts looked much nicer, and the rooms we could see into (they had large picture windows and the path back to the restaurant passed close by) looked very spacious.

The bed was comfortable, and we didn't hear any noise from the road so we slept well. The bathroom was a touch on the small side, and although it had everything we needed, the attention to detail on some of the fittings was lacking. The towels were also very small - one of my pet hates.

We ate in the restaurant as we don't like to have to get back in the car after a long day's drive, and it didn't disappoint. The steak was superb, and not to be missed. One feature we liked was the open wine cellar in a corner of the restaurant, where you could check out all the wines on offer before making a choice.

Would we stay again? Yes, but we might choose a better room if we could get a good rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
134
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with my sister in law from Melbourne along The Great Ocean Road to her home in Adelaide. We arrived late to the hotel on a rainy evening after a very long day traveling from Apollo Bay. The distances and time to travel these distances took longer than we planned. Our very large guest rooms were waiting for us and were well appointed. Even though we were late for our dinner reservation at their Barn Steakhouse, they welcomed us and we enjoyed an excellent steak dinner with a lovely selection of wines. My sister in law had stayed here before. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and got back on the road. It was still drizzling so we did not get to enjoy the gardens or explore what looked like beautiful grounds. We were pleased with the amenities in our king size non smoking rooms. Food was very good. It appears to be a perfect place to plan a stop when traveling The Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second stay at The Barn in Mount Gambier and it was just as good as the first visit. Our room was luxurious and extremely quiet, the beds are very comfortable and the outlook onto the gardens is just beautiful. If you are visiting the south east this is great spot to base yourself, we visited the coonawarra/wrattonbully area, beachport, port mcdonnell, robe and many wineries, all within a days touring. One of our highlights was dining at the Barns Steakhouse, try the fillet with gorgonzola..fantastic! and the wine list features some spectacular local wines..Majella 2010 Shiraz was our fav for the evening. The staff are professional, friendly and always helpful, i would not hesitate to recommend The Barn to anyone..cant wait to find an excuse to get back there soon !

Room Tip: the new premier king rooms are my favourite, very quiet, luxurious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got a special rate, obviously I should have learnt by now that a special rate means terrible room.
Towels are the size of a face washer and very thin, hair dryer is useless, tiny room, small uncomfortable bed, rooms are near highway so can hear trucks going past all night. Also no food available for room service until 6pm, I was hungry so had to go back into Mt Gambier to get food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent C, General Manager at The Barn Accommodation, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I am investigating our room’s hairdryers and other issues raised.
For your reference, we always endeavour to satisfy room service requirements outside the stated hours.
If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Austalia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a 2 night stop here in May 2013 after a 2 day drive from Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road. We had heavy rain during the stay which perhaps influenced our feelings. The motel (actually a large motel, steakhouse restaurant, conference centre) is located about 6 kilometres from Mt Gambier and unless you eat at the Steakhouse Restuarant you need to drive to/from Mt. Gambier for meals. We considered the Steakhouse (which has a good reputation in the area) but meal prices were a bit high and wine was expensive so we ate at local character hotels in the city each night and were very happy with this decision.

The motel room was average (we had Room 1) and located where we could here traffic noise on the main road to Nelson. It did not worry us but a light sleeper should ask for rooms away from the road.

On check-in we were advised breakfast was not included in the room price, but on checking our paperwork we found that a Continental Breakfast for 1 plus free WiFi internet had been offered - this was corrected when we revisited the reception. A replacement spare toilet paper was not provided after the first night room cleaning - this was corrected after a visit to the office. On check-out we reported that the bathroom door jammed and if pushed closed could not be opened from inside the bathroom - reception indicated this would be looked into. Just minor things but they left an impression.

Room was clean and had normal facilities that you expect. The motel section has been built in stages and there was a winding drive between reception and the room.

Next time I would stay in a motel in the town centre where I can walk to / from the local hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a rush trip around Victoria. It was a welcome, luxurious end to our holiday.

The room was brand new, clean & modern. The spa was fantastic, clean & comfortable.

A king size bed was comfortable, clean & the views were great from our room.

We had dinner in the restaurant which lived up to its reputation as being one of the best in the district.

The only negative were the fly's which our room was full of during the day - an unfortunate side-effect of the newly established rooms in summer.

We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Superior King Spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Part of a car trip through SA. Wonderfull stay in a great setting,with beaufifull gardens. you will not be disappointed. a standard of service that is sadly lacking in other so called 5 star accomodation is Australia.
Whilst a little oout of town it is woth the trip in a nice rural setting.We stayed in room 23.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Accommodation

Address: 747 Punt Road (aka Nelson Rd or Glenelg River Rd) | PO Box 947, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Barn Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the idyllic Barn Accommodation, where chic, elegantly appointed havens are set amongst expansive landscaped gardens and a lush rural setting….. Offering fresh country air in abundance, The Barn is nestled amongst expansive and tranquil landscaped gardens boasting historic ornamental trees, yet is only 5 minutes from the centre of Mount Gambier. Enjoy a pleasant stroll or a more challenging hike. A hit of tennis on our full size court might be more your style, followed by a soak in your private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Barn Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn Hotel Mount Gambier
Barn Accommodation Mount Gambier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.