We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mid City Motel

Mid City Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mid City Motel to your Saves list
Mid City Motel
15 Helen Street, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mount Gambier
melbourne, australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

we paid 95 with light breakfast and free wifi. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the sheets. the shower was good. has to turn the fridge off as the noise was annoying. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a place to stay
We found this place online and what a great spot and location.
This is one if the best motel we have stayed in mt gambier.
The room we have is great , clean and very quite.
The breakfast was so big And cooked just right.
Recommend to all who needs a good room and close to all in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great place to stay on way thru from Adelaide to Melb. Very convenient, ground floor rooms (could back up to door in the rain). Room spacious, shower good, Late checkout appreciated as I had a business appointment, as was bonus breakfast of bacon and eggs.

Host John called around town to chase up food requests, and suggested Sorrentos Cafe around the corner (opposite sink hole) where we had a great aged fillet steak and lamb shanks.

Keep it up ... Ed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Mid City motel has a number of self contained apartments and this is where we stayed during our recent visit. The Anderson street unit is spacious, modern, sparkling clean and ideal for families.
The main shopping street is within walking distance but if you are driving to Mt Gambier, the lock up garage with remote controlled door has a secure and direct access into the unit. It is situated in a very quiet area of the town. At around $210 a night, it is an economical alternative for families who prefer to prepare their own meals in a very relaxing, comfortable environment.
Perfect for a two day - or more - stopover to visit the Blue Lake and other sights in the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3br apartments [more like a house], not in the actual motel complex, but this turned out to be perfect for our kids to run riot in while on holiday. From here we were able to check out the Mt Gambier area throughout the days and then return and recuperate at night. The house was immaculately clean and tidy and had all the required amenities for the family to rest and relax in.

It's location is great too - a quiet suburban neighbourhood with no road noise yet still close enough to town to walk to get supplies.

Without a doubt though, the best feature was the air conditioning which kept the whole house cool even though it was ~42deg outside! Brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms were clean & spacious with plenty of room for parking. Good location with a major supermarket & shops nearby. John & Trudy were excellent hosts & its easy to see why their reviews are so positive. It was extremely hot whilst we were there but the rooms were beautiful & cool.......much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Brilliant, quiet location. Close to everything from the main street, places to eat & shopping. We had a look at the motel across the road but were put off by people smoking & drinking outside. ......not a good look for a family. We decided that the cost of a couple of extra dollars was well worth it & we were right even for the cleanliness & the size of the rooms.
The staff were extremely helpful with info on where to eat & vist. Breakfast was brilliant!
Thanks - we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motel

Address: 15 Helen Street, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mid City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.