We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Grand 47th wedding anniversary celebration!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand

Stamford Grand
Moseley Square, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 107 Restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Goolwa, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Our Grand 47th wedding anniversary celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After such hopes for our celebration, we were disappointed as we could hear the movie playing next door until 11.45 when I called out to "turn it down". We were in 212 in a Deluxe King which had a great sea view This room is at the end of the corridor and has an interconnecting door to the next room, which is locked generally, but could be handy for extra family members staying. The lifts (three or four) are just outside the door, which again is good.The hotel is generally looking tired and worn and in some cases the furniture isn't particularly clean, for instance, the arms on our chairs looked as though they could have done with a good clean!
Location is very good with a variety of shops and restaurants
on Jetty road available just outside the door.
Self parking is available at $5 across the road in a secure car park, and you can request a late checkout until 1p.m. for $10.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    20
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Jaded Hotel Needs Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was once the premier hotel on Glenelg seafront. Our first visit thirteen years ago was great, the rooms were already looking a little tired, however. Now, they are downright old fashioned. They are clean, but elderly fixtures and fittings mean that the reputation of this hotel has gone down. Anyone booking on the strength of the Stamford name may be disappointed. There are cheap deals however - a city view is very dull and disappointing but the rooms at the front are directly overlooking the sea and those with a balcony go some way to making up for the tired decor. The bar downstairs is excessively noisy and also contributes to the dumbing down of this hotel. The restaurant is open for breakfast which is excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very disapointing & not worth the money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went for Breakfast (buffet) for mothers day it was terribly unorganised & chaotic not a nice atmosphere at all.the layout for the actual buffet is terrible you are all squished down the back & the food was extremely bad.all 5 of us were in agreement that we would not return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel, with stunning views to Adelaide hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here just for one night, but it was great.
Wonderful weekend meal deal.
Comfortable beds
We stayed on the 11th floor, with incredible views to Adelaide hills, just like being in fairy land

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It really is Grand...in a dated kind of way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and it was really wonderful. We had a big room (there were 4 of us) with the most amazing ocean views.

Would love to stay again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stamford Grand also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Stamford Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.