We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and living off past glory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's On The Marina

Sammy's On The Marina
1/12 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 107 Restaurants in Glenelg
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“overrated and living off past glory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had dinner there on a Monday night and the place is advertised as Adelaide's best seafood Restaurant. Unfortunately we could not share this view. We had one dish that was no better than any fish and chip meal and grilled whiting filets that were "poached" but certainly not grilled. The wine was also not worth the money spent. The Restaurant is super noisy and it's almost impossible to have a conversation. So what's good ? the view is magic.... We have eaten at Sammy's a few years back and we suspect that the Restaurant has been sold and the new owners live from the past glory....sorry, a poor rating for this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    34
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Once in blue moon family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked in advance family dinner with overseas visitors. Prompt, good service, good food. Staff very polite and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The sea food at this restaurant was very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived and it took so long to get a drink and then it took at least 30minutes to order our meals and when they took our order we only got one main.
When we finally got the food it was extremely bland and over price (lobster $140.00) I had the chowder and it was extremely bland and I didn't.even eat it and the owner did not offer any refund.
I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone who is a seafood lover as they would be very disappointed and the restaurant was dirty and the windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned ever so realty there was no view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had high expectations and wern't disappointed, the seafood was very fresh and tasty. We expected higher prices due to the location and reputation, but didn't mind because the service and food was terrific. We also BYO'd which brought the price down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect seafood, perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We dined at Sammy's on the Marina on Sunday night for a special birthday and were very happy with the food, wine and service. Our hubby's had an entre which included white bait and a seafood chowder.. they were very happy indeed.. we went on to order whole baby snapper, seafood hot pot, calamari and a battered seafood plate... simply divine.. a nice bottle of Chappel Hill (it's a must to order a South Aussie wine.. breaks my heart to see so many NZ bottles on the list when we have such a plethera of vinyards in our state) .. desert for the lady's was the toffee & bannana tart + cookies and cream cheese cake...... yummmmo! Thanks again little Kelly for your outstanding service.. just loved your style x

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's On The Marina also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Sammy's On The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's On The Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.