We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Thai

Phuket Thai
162 Jetty Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
(08) 8295 1903
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went there on a Saturday night.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We didn't have a booking, but that didn't matter at all, even though the place was quite busy.
They recommended the soft shell crab, it was the most delicious meal I have ever eaten. Cooked to perfection. YUM!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

standard Thai menu done very nicely. One of the best Massaman beef I have had. very reasonably priced. Glenelg itself is a bit of a disappointment

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We called into Phuket Thai on a Saturday night just after 7.30 hoping to find a spare table. We hadn't eaten here for at least 10 years so were looking forward to revisiting Phuket Thai. We weren't disappointed! It was a busy place on a Saturday night with the only tables available being on the first floor. I think we would have preferred to be downstairs. But from then on it was all fantastic. We shared chicken satays for entree, pud Thai and chicken with basil for main meal. The food was fantastic , very tasty, the wine list provided some good choices and I have no doubt we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaren Vale, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, good service, a very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived with a children and grandchildren, the staff were very accommodating and understanding. The menu was varied and it all sounded great. We ordered a few dishes and shared them, the soft shell crab was my personal favourite. The food and wine (good wine list) was all very reasonably priced. We were on our way to the Airport so quick service was important and they delivered, but if you were looking for a more leisurely dinner I am sure they would oblige. Nicely decorated, felt very comfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant is within walking distance for us and is a regular. The food is always lovely either eat in or take away.

If they get really busy the service slows up a little, but nothing to stress about.

Our favourites are the tasting entree, the whole Barramundi, Pad Thai, Green Chicken Curry, Laksa....well you get the picture, we haven't found anything we haven't liked so far.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Thai also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Phuket Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.