We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best green curry ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Thai

Phuket Thai
162 Jetty Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
(08) 8295 1903
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best green curry ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Phuket is one of the longest lasting restaurants in Glenelg Beach and has always been great. The young waiter there recently observed that I've been going there for a long time... little did he know that "a long time" equated to 26 years! Probably about the same age as him!
The food is never a disappointed; it is authentic, tasty, spicy, generous Thai food and I've never found a green curry anywhere that I've liked as much as this one.
The restaurant has recently been refurbished and the result is fresh and cool, while still retaining a sense of style and thankfully, still carpeted, so the acoustics are good.
Make sure you book on weekends but early in the week you can probably just stroll in and get a seat. Or get some takeaway. Either way, enjoy this excellent restaurant... we always do.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    26
    12
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've been coming to the Phuket Thai now for around five years and have always enjoyed our meals. Food is fabulous, especially the Green Chicken curry and Massaman Beef. Have introduced a number of friends to this restaurant and all have been very impressed. One of the best Thai restaurants we've been to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best thai in SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Phuket Thai delivers South Australia's best thai food each and every visit. It's a hidden gem that I haven't wanted to share...but it seems to be getting quite popular these days. The newly renovated restaurant serves authentic thai cuisine with a slight cambodian influence in a casual atmosphere. Great for couples, families and friends, but not the place if you're after a quiet, intimate dinner.

My family has been dining here for approximately five years and over this time we have got to know the owner and her brother. Their parents, who are the chefs, use the grandmother's traditional receipts, with all pastes made from scratch. Although adapted to the western palette, their food is a great reflection of what to find in Thailand.

The food is infused with fresh herbs and spices, creating the spicy, sweet and salty balance that is thai. The texture, flavour and aromas are always spot on. Try the spicy squid salad and pandan chicken for entree, followed by the yellow curry, red curry and masamam curry for mains. Their coconut jackfruit ice-cream is amazing too!

Entrees are approximately AUD$10 and mains AUD$14.

To be critical, their service can be average (unless the brother and sister are working), with waiters not that attentive or happy. Also, if they are busy they sometimes do not have the staff to provide prompt service.

Only open nights at this stage, no delivery and they don't accept eftpos (savings and cheque accounts), which can cause difficulty.

But overall, this is my favourite restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value. Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nothing to dislike here.

The food was fantastic, service was excellent, the wine list affordable with plenty of choice.

One of the best Thai restaurants we've been to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Adelaide for a sporting tournament, we drive down Jetty Road and decided to try this restaurant. Warm greetings and excellent attentive service all night. We shared the Beef Massaman, Cashew Nut Chicken, and special Fried Rice between 3 adults and then all had banana fritters for dessert. Lovely food (although Massaman a little different to what I've had interstate) and good drinks list. We were very happy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Thai also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Phuket Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.