We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, awesome location and spotlessly clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seawall Apartments to your Saves list
Seawall Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
“Nice place, awesome location and spotlessly clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Seawall apartments are a lovely place 2 stay, I have now visited twice, and both rooms were spotless, and very peaceful. An awesome location, just a short scenic walk to jetty Rd restaurants etc.
Highly Recommended.

Cheers,
Chris

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the ocean, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks Chris for taking the time to post a review of your stays with us Seawall Apartments.
Thank you also for noting the spotlessly clean rooms - the housekeeping staff take great pride in their role and work really hard to maintain such a high standard. I will pass on your compliments - it will make their day!
Hope to see you when you are next in Adelaide again,
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    77
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
138
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We returned this year with a party of 8 and The Boat House was just perfect. We utilised all the facilities provided. Adelaide turned on the Winter Sun - so from the time we arrived on the Friday, we were sitting out on the deck enjoying a fine white wine taking in the sea air and breathtalking beach view prior to heading to Holdfast Shores to The Wharf for lunch and The Oyster Bar for "Happy Hour". We were very comfortable - beds fantastic, great ducted heating, sparkling bathrooms, spotless floors and had all the ammenities we required. We even had a BBQ on Sunday on the deck again as the Sun was so beautiful...Sunsets amazing. The apartments are in such a great location and one can walk everywhere. We'll be returning next year for the Adelaide Caberet Festival and the Sea and Vines...once again Rachael, Jayne and Sophie - thanks for making us all so welcome and looking after us so well.

Room Tip: The Beachfront Apartments have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you Katiegal for your lovely review! It is always wonderful to hear when a repeat guest notices all of the improvements we have made.
You were so lucky with the June weather - the big elevated deck in front of the Boat House is a fabulous spot to watch the world go by - even better with a lovely glass of South Australia's fine wine in hand!
We actually saw a WHALE swim past a few days ago! We were all so very excited - jumping around like little kids!
Thank you for returning to Seawall and we look forward to seeing you next year for the excellent Cabaret Festival in June.
All the best,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

ive stayed at the seawall twice before, the second time was in early 2012, the first time was about 4 years ago. both times i stayed in the 'beach house'.

It was clean, affordable for large groups, right on the beach, main bedroom with a spa, has a kitchen, dining room and loungeroom with plenty of room for visitors to call past. A nice seated area out the front, and although was in a popular spot with your neighbours very close by, was not very noisy at all. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The second time i stayed there, one of our group accidently left with one of our keys. Worried that I might have to pay a deposit until the key was returned etc was needless aswhen I told staff they were quite happy for the guest to mail back the key at their earliest convenience and no fee was required. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear ZoeBC84,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your third stay with us at Seawall.
The Beach House is a great room for family and friends get togethers with loads of space and the big deck on the seafront is great for evening drinkies!
Thanks for making mention of our friendly and helpful staff, I have shared your review with our team.
We are grateful that you have chosen to return to us again and again and look forward to seeing you all next time,
All the best,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the studio seafront apartment and had a wondeful trip. Although this particular apartment is right next to reception and behind the very popular Percy the shark we surprisingly didnt have alot of trouble with noise. We loved the fact that the kitchen area had big mirrored windows that provided us with privacy and beautiful sunsets over the sea. The king sized bed was much more comfy than my bed at home and the 2 person spa definantly exceeded both of our expectations. We were expecting it to be a lot smaller (the photos dont really do it justice). I also loved the fact that while in there I was able to watch the TV (with out the spa bubbles on as I couldnt hear but thats expected). The free internet was another bonus we found extremely handy. We stayed for 2 nights and we loved the fact that it was so diferent to anywhere we had stayed previously. It also has free guest parking which is extremely important to us and it was only a short walk away to all of the shops and restaurants. Although we don't have children Seawall looks very child friendly offering larger apartments for families and it has lots of marine objects to catch the attention of kids big and small. We cant wait to stay again and try out another of these wonderful apartments. We would deffinantly recommend staying at Seawall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi krid87 and thank you for your review of your stay in the Seafront Studio apartment.
I'm glad you enjoyed the big comfy king sized bed and the lovely spa bath - I didn't realise you could watch the TV from the spa! How very clever of you!
The view from those big windows is pretty special- the perfect place to watch the sunset!
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you both back to Seawall soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the Olive Apartment. We were booked in for another apartment but were a little concerned when we arrived as only a few meters away from their landmark Sharkmouth and it had a few local kids playing on it that were really noisy. we were promptly offered another room without any hesitation as was not booked for the time we were staying. On hindsight we didnt see any other kids playing on it whilst we there so probably wouldn't have been much of a concern but did love the new position we were offered as had its own table/chairs on the front porch so we could sit and have breaky watching the ocean and was alot more private. The first thing we noticed on entering was how clean the accomodation was and how well equiped. The first night was a little sleepless as the tenant upstairs had their TV on all night and as is like a two storey house we could hear through the floor. The rest of the stay was fine though as the neighbouring tenants were quiet. if you were concerned though having the owners on site means you could have the problem resolved immediately as they leave their contact mobile number but we were not that concerned to wake anyone up. Free internet connection is a real bonus as is the free parking. The tram line is only a 5 minute stroll up the coastal path as is loads of popular shops, cafes and restaurants. We absolutely loved our stay and would have no hesitation in recomending it to others.

Room Tip: if noise is a concern book one of the Olive apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks VickyG72 for taking the time to write about your stay in 4 Olive Court.
I'm glad you enjoyed our beautiful location and were able to make use of your outdoor patio with those stunning sea views.
The Shark is a bit of fun and I am pleased you mentioned that the few happy children who have their photos taken there are not really a problem for our guests in the Seafront Studio apartment!
Thank you for noting the cleanliness of the apartments, I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping staff and they were delighted with your feedback.
We hope to see you next time you are back in our part of the world,
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just home today from a four day visit to Adelaide saying at the Seawall Apartments with my husband and three young children. The apartment was imaculately clean, beautifully presented, the staff were lovely and accommodated our evening arrival at 9pm without a hitch. The layout of the apartment was perfect for a young family and the second bathroom was great!

The location was amazing and we loved waking up to the sounds of the waves every morning and watching people walking/jogging along the esplanade every morning. One lunchtime we had a babysitter whilst we went to an event. The receptionist provided buckets and spades as well as toys for the kids to play with.

I can't thank you enough for an amazing visit. We can't wait to return. Oh and the kids LOVED having their daily bath in the spa bath overlooking the beach!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks Jane H, we are so glad you and your family enjoyed the Captain's Quarters. It is my favorite apartment and the view from the spa is quite fabulous. I hope you got to enjoy the spa too when the kids went to bed ;)
We pride ourselves on our relaxed family atmosphere and were happy to make sure the kids had a great stay as well.
Hope to see you and your family again soon,
Best wishes,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were most impressed with the accommodation and facilities offered. Very children friendly, they clearly understood the little things that make traveling with young children (in our case 15 month old) easier from providing Porta Cot, High Chair as well as stroller and a few children’s toys in the apartment and heaps of beach accessories (buckets, shovels, balls, body boards, fishing gear) etc.... all for free. Free fast internet was exceptionally useful for us. The rooms are simple but comfortable. The spa (bathtub with jets) was very basic, but nice to have. The location is amazing! right on the beach, a few minutes’ walk to town centre. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This place has a great family feel about it, very warm welcoming with much character. Looking forward to when we can come back. Our only “complaints” were with the wooden floor above us, when there were some noisy children running around early own morning upstairs it woke us up, and we had some trouble with two of the hotplates (two others worked).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Owner at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Luke P, thank you for your lovely review!
I am really happy to hear that you had a fun family holiday.

Thank you for noting the little (free) extras we provide - from beach toys/boogie boards to internet and parking. It doesn't feel fair or right to charge $30 for a cot, $20 a day for internet etc.. So we don't!

We look forward to seeing you and your family back at Seawall soon,
Best wishes,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments are unique heritage listed apartments, located on a traffic free promenade, right on the beach at Glenelg. Our small private hotel is just 500m from Jetty Road with its many restaurants, shops and the tram to the city. We have a range of apartments to suit, from studio apartments for a couple, to 4 bedroom apartments accommodating up to 8 people. All apartments have a large spa baths, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, are air conditioned with flat screen TVs, DVD player and Ipod docking stations. We have FREE WIFI internet access in all of the apartments. Our off street car parking is complementary to our guests. Seawall Apartments has several spacious, open decked areas with shady seating and BBQs. This is just the spot to watch the sunset over the ocean or take in a little dolphin spotting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seawall Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.