We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenelg Motel

Glenelg Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glenelg Motel to your Saves list
Glenelg Motel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 Tapleys Hill Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Feilding
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Arrived for 3 nights then returned after our Houseboat experience, for another 5 nights. Great place. We felt very relaxed and comfortable. Staff and management very helpful and friendly and went out of there way too. Rooms where clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. We had great nights sleep. Great value. We did have noisy neightbours though but that didnt reflect on the Motel at all. To be able to walk to the beach and to Jetty Rd made for a great stay. We were recommended to stay here from friends and will be back to stay there again next time we are in Adelaide. We do recommend the stay. Thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
35
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

older style motel, very basic but clean and tidy with good size rooms, plenty of parking room for larger vehicles and gates locked nightly so good security for vehicles. Close to the airport, easy walk to the main parts of Glenelg but far enough away to get out of the noise, hustle and bustle. About 3 star, good staff attitude and any request was not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel has good sized rooms, is close to Jetty Road for all services and very reasonably priced. However I would suggest some new, less hard pillows!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Arrived after a 30 hour journey from London room was basic but clean shower was fantastic! nice quiet location and got a real good sleep after a long journey. Staff were lovely and friendly and the guy who does breakfast is an absolute star

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I chose this motel for its location (relatively close to beach, easy access to city) and quietness. Unfortunately the service was almost non-existent; on the first day we returned to our room after reception had closed at 9.00 pm to find our bed effectively unmade (blanket and quilt had been pulled up over an otherwise unmade bed). I advised the manager the next morning and he undertook to follow up with the staff member concerned. However when we returned the next evening we found the bed completely unmade and no soap sachet replacements. I advised the manger of this immediately and he arranged for a changed of bedding and for the bed to be made up (which was duly done by the manageress and my wife). I raised the querstion with the manager at the time of our departure the next day as to arranging a partial refund for the lack of service: he noted that we had booked via Wotif and that he considered the action taken the previous night to be sufficient. I did not raise issues with these inappropriate comments ar the time; I believe it to be more effective to share our experience with other travellers. I would also note two other soruces of annoyance; there was a constant trail of ants through the bathroom and even into the bedroom, and the air conditioner was primitive (noisy, and controled only by an on/off switch).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonieElson, Manager at Glenelg Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Thankyou for the feedback and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
The un-made bed was due to a breathing apparatus plus relevant leads and hoses being left on the bed.
Our housemaids have been instructed not to touch guests property, as this equipment looked expensive and important the housemaid was unable to properly make the bed, she did however complete all other aspects of servicing the room. The following day once again there were personal belongings on the bed so again it was not made - Once brought to our attention the manageress did rectify this by completely replacing the linen with the help of your wife. Our apologies, the housemaid did omit to replace the soap.
Your stay was for 3 days and after the manageress remade your bed this meant your bed wasn't made properly only once, therefore the acting manager did not consider this warranted a refund. He did offer a complimentary breakfast to compensate which was declined.
At this time of year we do occasionally have problems with ants searching for water when the weather is hot, especially if foodstuff is left out.
Like any problem, we can only deal with it if we are notified, we certainly would have cleaned up the ants and supplied pest spray.
The A/C does actually have controls inside a panel to adjust airflow and temperature - once again we could have shown you this if we had been notified.
Once again our apologies your stay was not up to the standard we like to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Just home fom staying 4 nights. No complaints about room-basic but clean. Good value for money...had a great little holiday. Would stay again..very quiet location, good pool, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

my partner and i stayed at the glenelg motel for 3 days while on our way up north.Managers were friendly and helpful rooms very clean,
nice and quiet yet close to the action on jetty road.really enjoyed our stay . absolutley no complaints will definatley return. Exactley what we were looking for regarding peace and quiet and clean.great cooked breakfast.Recommend staying here for sure

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenelg Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Motel

Address: 41 Tapleys Hill Road, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenelg Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 clean affordable units with friendly staff and close proximity to jetty road,restaurants, shopping centres, major hospitals, morphettville race course, airport & golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glenelg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenelg Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.