We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Liberty Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Liberty Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Liberty Towers
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   25 Colley Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia, melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Modern Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We enjoyed a four night getway to Glenelg back in 2004. We decided to stay at Liberty towers based on price (wotif), location and the look of the hotel. We were not let down by any of these!

Our one bedroom apartment on the 9th floor came with all the fittings. We had a HUGE balcony with views of the airport, city and park. Our balcony also consisted of a bbq and out door setting.

My partner was very pleased to see we had a plasma Tv in our room... and I enjoyed the modern feel and look to the kitchen, lounge and bedroom!

The only problem we encountered was our room had no phone. We did bring this to the attention on the receptionist. A day later we reminded the same receptionist who stated it was being looked into. We spend all 4 days without a phone in our room and used a mobile. I dare say this worked out cheaper for us anyway, but is not the point.

Otherwise, a great hotel!

  • Liked — location and decore
  • Disliked — no phone, checking staff
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room on a higher level
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    66
    30
    21
    9
See reviews for
36
67
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

My boyfriend and I booked our accommodation via the wotif.com website and received a very affordable rate, especially considering that it was the middle of summer.

As stated in other reviews, we were greeted by staff that were not particularly friendly. While not rude, they didn't not provide a friendly or helpful start to our holiday.

The room was very modern and exactly what we needed. We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment. The bathroom was gorgeous and the kitchen, while not supplying a large array of utensils, suited our needs exactly. The room was clean, comfortable and quite impressive.

However, we received a room on the second floor and had views basically into someone elses living room. We had no view of the ocean or the park, so the beautiful balcony did not get used except to dry clothes. This was quite disappointing. I am unsure whether we received this room because we booked through a discount website or not.

The location was near the beach and jetty road so the location was just perfect.

The pool is small but clean and fresh and I made good use of the gym, sauna and spa, as well as the steam room. I thought that these facilities were really clean, modern and functional.

I would possibly stay again but would be inclined to rather stay at the big sister of these apartments- the Oaks Plaza Pier- as you are guaranteed a great view no matter which side of the resort you stay on.

  • Liked — The apartments
  • Disliked — The view
  • Tips/Secrets — Just beware of the negatives before booking. Don't pay too much or your will be disappointed.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed for two nights with the kids during the school holidays after booking through Wotif. We were very impressed with the quality and space of the two bed apartment for the price we paid. Everything was fresh and spotless, and the kitchen and bathrooms had top quality fittings.
We were up on the seventh floor and only had a small view of the sea as it was blocked by the Oaks Pacific Pier Hotel, but we did had good views of the marina and the parks. The hotel is in a good location, close to beach, shops etc, and the kids enjoyed using the swimming pool, spa, gym and even the sauna.
The staff were helpful but not overly friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was much better than other hotels we have stayed at in Glenelg.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in April 2006.

On our honeymoon we checked into a single bedroom apartment with queen size bed. Overall the hotel was dirty in corridors and had a strange odour (similar to the odour associated with mice). Very little water pressure in showers etc. Overall quality not up to par. Extremely rude staff.

Hopped into bed, discovered the queen was actually two single mattresses pushed together with some velcro joining them to form a "queen" size bed. Discovered this at 9pm, then discovered (how convenient) that reception closes at 7pm. Asked for a refund in the morning - didnt even get an apology nor explanation.

I would definitely recomment AGAINST staying at this hotel. I just can't beleive they get away with what they appeared to with us.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, May 1, 2006
Liberty Towers prides itself on it's clean and sleek look which is carried through the property. There have been no previous reports of dirty corridors and/ or smells and an inspection of the property has confirmed this.

Liberty Towers is a limited service apartment-style facility and reception is open until 8.00 pm. Between 8.00 pm and 4.00 am there is a security presence until 4.00 am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

Really enjoyed our stay at the Oaks Towers however, there were afew things that soured our visit. Firstly the reception staff were not particularly helpful or even kind, secondly when we got to the room there were beer bottle lids all over the balcony and it had not been cleaned. Thirdly we were on the first floor with a park view so all the traffic and noise from the party goers in the parklands came straight into our room.

Apart from that the room was really fashionably designed and really spacious. There were 2 fold out couches in our 1 bedroom room. The kitchen facilities were really lovely. I would probably come back

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

This was our first location during our tour of australia.We arrived very jetlagged, and unfortunately our appartment was not quite ready.However, we were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a penthouse type appartment.It was fabulous and to the kids delight had a massive plasma TV, 2 bathrooms, 3 big bedrooms and a fabulous view of the marina.
We would definitely recommend this place to stay ( and its minutes from a gorgeous white sandy beach )
Really nice helpful staff too!

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

I enjoyed my stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

We had a few problems when we got there though. When we went into our room for the first time, it was all messy/dirty. I had a huge shock. Soon after we found out that it had not been cleaned at all yet by housekeeping. We had to get moved into a large 3 bedroom apartment for one night. We then had to move back into a standard room. It was nice of them to move us into another room, but it was a bit annoying that we had to move all our luggage across the hotel back into another room.

Besides this, I really enjoyed the hotel. It had a very corporate feel to it. I was there with my fiance, but I think it would be especially great for business trips.

The hotel room was large and clean. Nice big balcony with a nice view of a park. We parked our car in their large underground car park.

It's not right off the beach, but it only takes a few minutes to walk to the beach/Jetty Road.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Liberty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Liberty Towers

Address: 25 Colley Terrace, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Liberty Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular coastal, ocean, marina and night time cityscape views, Oaks Liberty Towers is superbly located in the beachside resort area of Glenelg. Oaks Liberty offers contemporary fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments with full kitchen facilities, individually controlled ducted air conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Liberty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Liberty Towers Hotel Glenelg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Liberty Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.